407 centre console screen.

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1045
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 135

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by moizeau »

Good news, passed the MOT, bad news can't get the replacement screens to work properly. I picked up 2 screens from the breakers, different part no. from that mentioned, but this is just a sticker on the back. My original screen doesn't match the part no. given either. one of the screens can be accessed in diagbox (can't find anything in PP) but when trying to program it it says 'failure' The other, a newer one from 2009 won't let me change the parameters. If I click on a parameter it does nothing and then it won't let me close diagbox, it's as if it freezes. I'm running diagbox V07.02, maybe it's not compatible with the screen. The other odd thing is that the part number on the sticker doesn't match the part number given in diagbox. The newer one also throws a code saying 'no permanent plus'. I can't help thinking I'm missing something stupid. Both new screens function but give different info due to their programming. I'm going to plug the original back in to check the part number from within diagbox.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22585
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2336

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Several things - First I've moved this to the telematics section where it is more suited as telematics options are shared amongst the PSA vehicles.

Concerning the issues:
  • Diagbox generally won't be appropriate for your 407 given the age (2006) of the vehicle, so PP2000 should be fine.
  • If the Screen you have from the breakers is from too new a vehicle, PP2000 won't be able to talk to it as the firmware / software version of the newer Screen is too new for the software in pp2000. So PP is looking at what it thinks is there and may not have dialogue with the ECU you have just fitted.
  • There is a possibility that the newer screens may not be compatible with the CAN architecture of your 407 or your BSI. You have a cross-range BSI fitted, however, they also came in Lower / Mid and Top trim versions depending on the options fitted to your 407.
  • Next part numbers: for the level 1 screen (fitted to your 407 at factory) there are 17 variants of part numbers, all varying against specification, body shape, options etc. Then there is the Level 2 colour and larger Level 3 screens. So getting a matching part is quite important.
  • So your BSI has to be able to recognise and talk to the screen, PP2000 must be able to recognise the screen to configure it (again if the software of the screen is too new it won't be able to), so these are some of the issues you may encounter.
If you just want a replacement screen then try and get a matching part number from your existing one using the 96 long number or the OEM number I referred to in my table earlier.

Lastly, I'm not sure how old your VCI is and whether it is an older model - if it is older, upgrading it to Diagbox past version 7.02 may not be feasible if it is an older revision B. Also some of the older revision B units have problems talking to full CAN vehicles. If you want to try and upgrade it to 7.57 and need the file let me know. That will upgrade the encapsulated version of PP2000 too - but I would not go past that version. The upgrade will automatically update the firmware in the VCI, but you can downgrade this later if it causes problems and also you can downgrade the software back to 7.02 if needed.

moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1045
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 135

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by moizeau »

Thanks for the information. The VCI is 9780.z5 bought from Easy Diags, I'll search out my disk and upgrade it to 7.57 and see if that changes anything. I could find all the parameters in diagbox but couldn't find anything to do with screen settings in PP? I was also telling diagbox that I had the old generation bsi. All this fun stops you getting bored! Thanks again

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22585
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2336

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If using Diagbox, on versions later than 7.02, it should automatically pick up the VIN and also launch the appropriate software for the car - which SHOULD be PP2000 for a 2006 vehicle. The Diagbox software itself is really only for post 2007 vehicles and will have problems with older cars - hence the reason from later versions of the software it will automatically detect and launch the most appropriate interface.

You shouldn't have to tell it about the BSI - that should be automatic.
If you replace it with a like for like screen, there should be no telecoding required. If you try and put a an EMF C screen in then you will need to telecode it, which means going into the BSI, setting the language, units and functionality - but these have specific values that cannot be changed on a whim - they have default values and if some are changed (meant for another vehicle type as you have a cross platform BSI) your car may light up like a Christmas tree and become very sick.

Always take prior screenshots of parameters before changing anything as there is no backup.

moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1045
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 135

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by moizeau »

Just updating to 7.57 as I write. On 7.02 it gave me the choice of Diagbox or PP2000, I chose Diagbox then it found the Vin after I selected 407, then it asked me what type of BSI. All the screens that I've plugged in, including the original show as an EMF C, I'll see what happens on the newer version. Thanks

moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1045
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 135

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by moizeau »

Marc, thank you very much for your help. I now have a working screen that I reconfigured. System parameters are 'greyed out' on the menu and the bluetooth option doesn't seem to be there but the dual AC, stereo, date, trip, blowers and anything else I've forgot work. The updated v7.57 didn't recognise the ecu that was out of a C3 but it allowed me to tell it that it was an EMF C and then it asked whether it was dot matrix or dot matrix colour? Selected the former and it allowed me into the configuration settings. I had written down all the settings that were listed in the settings for the knackered screen and filled in the new one the same. This is all Diagbox, going into PP2000 I can only find one part that looks likely and it say's to press the '.' to enter parameters and I can't find anything that works. An added bonus is that Diagbox now can recognise the ABS / traction and it never did before. I believe it may be beer o clock!! Thanks again Marc.
Pete

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22585
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2336

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Excellent Pete, well done there. There are 2 EMC C screens - the monochrome / orange one and the colour one. I'm pleased you have it all working now.

moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1045
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 135

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by moizeau »

Just to add, I picked up a second screen today to see whether it was good luck or good research? Plugged it into the car, 10 mins later all done with an added bonus of having the bluetooth option back. So the bluetooth is a hardware difference not software, which would make sense as they wouldn't be putting more expensive PCBs in unnecessarily. All in all, now I know how the unit comes out and where to go in Diagbox, the whole job takes 15 minutes. I might stick the spare non bluetoothed unit on 'Le Bon Coin' as they are up for anything between 60 and 120 euros. If anyone on the forum wants it, pay the postage and it's yours.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22585
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2336

Re: 407 centre console screen.

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes the bluetooth unit requires a chip as well as software and needs the more advanced screen.