RT6 FM2?

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

This is what is coming up with RNEG option:
308 RNEG Aerial.PNG
8404 is the other aerial

mara-
Posts: 62
Joined: 26 Feb 2018, 20:05
x 5

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by mara- »

Can you please clarify? I am not good with reading schematis. And didn't 308 come with RT6?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The 308 came with many options like most other PSA vehicles and the RT6 was one of them from a certain year. In this diagram it more or less shares the same connections for MyWay (RNEG) as it does for eMyWay (RT6).

This is not exact as all the diagrams are different depending on options, build date, and other specs - so I normally need a VIN for this reason as it can raise more questions - so use this as an example only.

The blue aerial is for the GPS, the White Aerial is for AM / FM1 and the Grey aerial is for FM2.

I can't give you a diagram for your car as is won't have come with these options so the electrical diagram won't be relevant. The 308 one here is a sample only and won't be exact as it is for MyWay probably, but was just to show you the separate aerial connections.

mara-
Posts: 62
Joined: 26 Feb 2018, 20:05
x 5

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by mara- »

So, my initial assumption is correct, two antennas exist? Also, would it be possible to see in the diagrams which is negative which positive input for this 8404? I'm thinking to just order the module from eBay and try it.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

All the original 2 Aerial, GPS and GSM connections (4 in total) from your original RT3 went directly to the aerial base on the roof of the car.

So on the RT6 you won’t have a GSM aerial, just the 2 Radio and GPS connections. So have you first tried changing them both to active in PP2000 to see if that will make any difference?

In the above diagram 8501 is the Blue GPS connector, then you have 3 others for radio, 2 going to 8404 and one in 8406. I can’t tell you from this where they are powered from as it doesn’t show this.

mara-
Posts: 62
Joined: 26 Feb 2018, 20:05
x 5

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by mara- »

Both are currently set to active, but since one cable is split to two, I'm guessing that radio is powering twice the same antenna.

Those number of connections you wrote are not making sense. How could my original setup have 4? I have one FM, one GPS, one GSM, what is forth?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The aerial wiring is generic - so in cases of the RT5 unit which has 4 connectors - they won't always change the wiring cables for each unit - they'll just use the same on and leave some spare.
RT5 Aerials.png

mara-
Posts: 62
Joined: 26 Feb 2018, 20:05
x 5

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by mara- »

So many different options. I was looking at the diagrams myself a little, and I am little more convinced that I need the amplified module I linked in the first page. But I have two issues with it. I don't know which is positive which negative input. Also, if the radio is powering the antenna, why it also requires the power itself?

User avatar
EDC5
Donor 2020
Posts: 1216
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 104

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by EDC5 »

Does your 307 have two antennas that feed the diversity module, then from that a single antenna feed to the headunit?

Also, would you mind telling me the part number of the CAN2004 RT6?

mara-
Posts: 62
Joined: 26 Feb 2018, 20:05
x 5

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by mara- »

I don't have diversity module at all. If I did, than I would not have this problem. I would just take out the module, and feed two coaxial cables directly to RT6, which now does the diversity job. I don't have the part number which you can find on the service box, I bought RT6 used, screen was new. I can take a picture of the top side if that can help you.

mara-
Posts: 62
Joined: 26 Feb 2018, 20:05
x 5

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by mara- »

Just checked today with multi-meter, and FM1 and FM2 are feeding 12v, so they are currently powering the same antenna, so basically, splitter is not doing anything, since radio is receiving signal either with FM1 or FM2 plugged in, so I definitely need the second antenna. My best bet is to find someone with 308 and see if this amplifier plugged to anything else except coaxial.

I found this in schematics, what do you think about the location, is this in the tailgate?
Attachments
308-fm2.jpg

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So far as I can tell, the aerials can be:
Roof mounted
Rear Tailgate (screen printed)
Rear Quarterlight (screen printed)
A wire through the Rear Spoiler / Tailgate

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5313
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 756

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by Paul-R »

I don't think I've ever seen an X7 C5 with anything except a stubby aerial (unless nothing is fitted!) so no radio aerial on the roof. Similarly, it's only the Tourer which has a tailgate and on mine the aerials are printed on to the rear side windows. Maybe some were fitted with a different rear screen? Possible I suppose. Wire through the rear spoiler: interesting, maybe that's where the saloon hides it?

On our 308SW the roof aerial almost certainly feeds the radio as it's not a stubby version. There are no lines printed on the rear side windows which sort of confirms it. The roof aerial is not as long as the ones that used to grace my Mk1 C5 and Xsara II though. I haven't messed around with the spoiler so can't be sure about that.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, Mara has a 307 Paul, so just general advice as to where they can be fitted. :) They are not model-specific of course until you get into the actual model and even then depends on options fitted.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24382
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2667

Re: RT6 FM2?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

mara- wrote:
09 Jun 2018, 12:47
Just checked today with multi-meter, and FM1 and FM2 are feeding 12v, so they are currently powering the same antenna, so basically, splitter is not doing anything, since radio is receiving signal either with FM1 or FM2 plugged in, so I definitely need the second antenna. My best bet is to find someone with 308 and see if this amplifier plugged to anything else except coaxial.

I found this in schematics, what do you think about the location, is this in the tailgate?

Image


I'm assuming that is from a 308.

These are the aerials on the later 308 as far as I can see and there are a large number of options even for the stubby roof aerial dependant upon equipment of course.
308 Aerials.PNG
20 is the AM-FM1 Aerial Amp
21 is the FM2 Aerial Amp
25 is the TV Aerial Amp Support for FM2
26 is the TV Aerial Amp Support for AM-FM
And of course the wire (1) and the base (2) are also different depending on options!