SAT Nav Offset

This unit is the MyWay system, also referred to as RNEG, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: Also referred to as RNEG, the MyWay colour satellite navigation system, has SD card, integrated European mapping, live trafic information, voice guidance and graphics in 2D or aerial perspective & it features a Bluetooth® system (Bluetooth phone compatibility only - no Bluetooth Audio Streaming).

Moderator: RichardW

Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11939
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1491

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

As the radio is coded to the ViN it will not be upset by the BSi reset. However, you will need to reset the clock afterwards.
Kevlar
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Aug 2017, 12:22

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by Kevlar »

Merci Buckets kind Sir!
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No need for any codes Kev, the unit is VIN coded to the vehicle. The clock synchronises via the GPS system too (it does on the NG4 system), so that may not be necessary.
Kevlar
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Aug 2017, 12:22

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by Kevlar »

Hi Guys,

well done the full reset and followed it to the letter. Regretfully the fault remains. Please see attached photo.....I'm actually parked at the junction, however map shows I'm just short of it, I even waited a minute to see if it would catch up but no...... 10 Sat's showing "good" localisation. Guess I'm stuck with it?
Attachments
Position Shift
Position Shift
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11939
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1491

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

It could be worse. When I use a Sat Nav in me C5 Mk1 it will 'estimate' my position as an area about 500 yards across. OK when you are on a motorway, useless when in town. It is because I have an 'athermic' windscreen, which is good at blocking heat flow, and, coincidentally, equally good at blocking GPS signals!
Kevlar
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Aug 2017, 12:22

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by Kevlar »

Oh Dear......I guess its just the perfectionist in me, hate anything wrong with such a fantastic machine..... and yes it could be worse :-)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I'm running out of suggestions Kev; the following is an extract from the Government's GPS info page, but there could be other reasons like the calibration of the unit itself. These are pretty much set at factory and I wouldn't want to suggest changing any settings (if possible) in the extended system menu.

If it was a large speed discrepancy between the GPS and the speedo, I would of suggested a faulty ABS speed sensor, but this won't account for the actual positioning. You don't live near any secret military bases do you? :-D
Many things can degrade GPS positioning accuracy. Common causes include:
  • Satellite signal blockage due to buildings, bridges, trees, etc.
  • Indoor or underground use
  • Signals reflected off buildings or walls ("multipath")
Far less common causes may include:
  • Radio interference or jamming
  • Major solar storms
  • Satellite maintenance/maneuvers creating temporary gaps in coverage
  • Improperly designed devices that do not comply with GPS Interface Specifications
In many cases, a device's GPS hardware is working fine, but its mapping software is faulty. For example, users are often misled by:
  • Incorrectly drawn maps
  • Mislabeled businesses and other points of interest
  • Missing roads, buildings, communities, etc.
  • Incorrectly estimated street addresses
I also wouldn't want to suggest the mapping software is corrupt, as you had the same issue on the older map versions and firmware.

You could try a system reset Kev:
  • Start car, wait for system to load.
  • Press and hold SETUP until system menu loads.
  • Then a quick press on SETUP, let go and hold buttons 1,2 & 3 in together until the second menu appears.
  • You should see HMI, SYSTEM & SETTINGS as the first 3 menu items.
  • Select SETTINGS and from that menu, there should be a SYSTEM RESET (REBOOT) option about 5 items down.
  • Hitting this will make it all go blank and it will reboot.
See how you go, but be VERY careful of changing anything else in there.
Kevlar
Posts: 15
Joined: 01 Aug 2017, 12:22

Re: SAT Nav Offset

Post by Kevlar »

Thanks Marc, I'll give it a go, and see what LAT/LONG I get in comparison to the Garmin.....

Yet again I'm greatly indebted....

I will revert, Kev.