2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I've had a good long look at many types, but they don't match the specs or come close - they are a level above that - take the HGST Endurastar - these are above the Travelstar drives used in a lot of their laptops. The other thing is that the speed needs to be 4200 RPM. The only ones that seem to be available are from dodgy companies in the USA where prices are typically $190 plus shipping of $60 - and there is no guarantee that it is genuine or new as the drives are discontinued. People with these and similar systems in Mercedes and BMW got wise and bought up spares, so good ones are rare to come buy. So I'm just going to get the imaging done for now and then I'll keep looking and experimenting with drives when I get the time. :roll:
Dublin_C5
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 16:02

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by Dublin_C5 »

Hi I just spoke with a local citroen dealers service dept. They started quoting silly money for replacement...dont do repairs only replacement of whole head unit!!!!
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I had a feeling they would say that - it's a throwaway society and getting worse not better! Its probably only the HDD! That's why a lot of people are trying to undertake a backup just in case - as it is not easy to just get a new HDD with the OS on and coded to your vehicle. For a system that was nearly a £2k option.... silly.
Dublin_C5
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 16:02

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by Dublin_C5 »

Hi Marc,
just an update on the headunit.I took it to the dealer I got it from.They confirmed it wasnt operational.So they popped it off to Clarion and 1 week later I have it back fully operational at a cost of 570 Euros. I got no info on what the fault was just that it was repaired I have asked them to try get details and forward them to me...for my own need to know.
Anyways...back in action and once again thanks for all your help
regards
Alan
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That's great news Alan. I knew that the Clarion service centre had a contract to repair the Magneti Marelli units, but wasn't sure about the NG4s. I knew it was about 500 Euros a while back in France for repairs - so seems about right. Hopefully they will have updated it to the latest firmware for you too. I'm in the process of writing up about the recent conversion I have done on my NG4 unit to replace the HDD with a Compact Flash Card and Adapter, so I can keep the HDD safely stored away. I also have an image of the working drive too, just as an extra backup. It's all completed now, so I'll post up the update when I've finished. Hopefully this might help others take some preventative action in case their drive is on the way out!

Thanks for updating us anyway.
devlinr
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jul 2022, 19:06

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by devlinr »

Hi,
I have a Citroen C5 1.6 e-HDi Airdream VTR+ Tourer 5dr 2013 and the centre console Nav screen has started to play up, symptoms are it boots (I hear the drive spinning) and either
1. It works as expected
2. It boots to the Citroen logo screen and stays on it yet radio behind it still plays etc
3. It boots displays the logo screen then goes off and reboots in a cycle.
Sadly, it’s getting worse along points 1-3 and its more often 2 or 3 now over the course of just a few weeks. Initially I thought the screen but when it shows it renders fine, then I thought power or lack of it but a basic test with a voltmeter shows my battery gives 12v+ engine off and 14v+ engine on with no fluctuation I can see.
I work in IT and having read this post its got me thinking this is likely the issue, the drive isn’t picking up the firmware and or has some bad sectors on it and perhaps a reflash re partition would be worth a shot. Note my car does not appear to have any loaded or even the jukebox option to load and load my own .mp3’s or other on it, at least not that I have seen, it does have the USB slot which I can read mp3 from.
Trouble is since reading this post its been solidly in state 3 above, I cant get the setup option to reveal which version is currently is, either press and hold or other, its logo for 5-10 seconds then reboot disk spins and logo for 5-10 seconds.
Any thoughts? And would forum member “GiveMeABreak” be kind enough to give me a download of the firmware, I have my VIN… can I post it here?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The telematics for this year don't have hard drives except the NG4 Navidrive 3D. Best to pop your VIN up so I can see what you have and then I'll move this into the correct forum.
devlinr
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jul 2022, 19:06

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by devlinr »

Hi Thankyou.

Got some life out of it this morning but the setup button does not reveal alot, it goes to Radio telephone diag or nav demo, I have a list of possible versions in the options screen but might need different instructions to get exactly what might be needed...

Is the VIN number this one under the window? VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: 2011 C5 Tourer multifunction screen

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes that's the one.

Ok so you have the RT6 or eMyWay system. That has flash memory and not a hard drive in the unit.

It sounds like the MicoSD card in the unit is starting to fail.

Have a read of this thread, everything you need is in there. I will send you a PM with the latest and last firnware shortly.

viewtopic.php?t=63227