Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26536
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The MK 1 C5 never had the RT3 installed. That was not until the facelifted Mark II. You will possibly not have the correct equipment / wiring / aerials or the correct BSI to accept this system.
wheeler
Posts: 5376
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 340

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by wheeler »

The RT3 system was definitely available on the MK1 C5. Quite rare but definitely available.
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26536
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Very rare, as most of these early C5s had the Siemens VDO systems.
@Vlado: This isn't something I'm going to be able to help you with as I've never seen one fitted on MK Is. The early incarnations may also of been monochrome as they were without optical cables, I think the RT3 N1 02 was one such version.
jamescarruthers
Donor 2021
Posts: 181
Joined: 25 Oct 2016, 19:31
x 19

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by jamescarruthers »

While we are on the topic of the old VDO system in the Mk. 1 C5, is there a known repair for the colour screen which seems to have got a bit dim and lost its colours a bit? For example, when selecting the characters for Sat Nav, it is hard to see which one is highlighted— this is the main time it becomes obvious it isn’t working “as new”; generally you can see what it wants to display but the colour yellow os a real issue.

If the screen is fed with a fibre optic signal, can the ends of the cable be cleaned?

Or, I read a little on here that the video card could be changed. Is this on top of the CD drive?

Or, do I just need a known good screen to replace it with?
Vlado
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Sep 2019, 22:19

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by Vlado »

Hello I installed rt3-n3-02 instead of standard rd3 clarion but I have a problem how to connect the bordeaux computer is there someone to help me with that Thank you
jamescarruthers
Donor 2021
Posts: 181
Joined: 25 Oct 2016, 19:31
x 19

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by jamescarruthers »

Vlado wrote:
30 Aug 2021, 22:52
Hello I installed rt3-n3-02 instead of standard rd3 clarion but I have a problem how to connect the bordeaux computer is there someone to help me with that Thank you
I am very likely not to be able to help you. However, I see that you have posted twice about this “bordeaux”. I think maybe you need a better translator program because this doesn’t make any sense to me.

Maybe you could rewrite your question to have a better chance of some help?

I hope you find a solution.
Vlado
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Sep 2019, 22:19

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by Vlado »

Ok
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26536
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak »

jamescarruthers wrote:
30 Aug 2021, 21:59
While we are on the topic of the old VDO system in the Mk. 1 C5, is there a known repair for the colour screen which seems to have got a bit dim and lost its colours a bit? For example, when selecting the characters for Sat Nav, it is hard to see which one is highlighted— this is the main time it becomes obvious it isn’t working “as new”; generally you can see what it wants to display but the colour yellow os a real issue.

If the screen is fed with a fibre optic signal, can the ends of the cable be cleaned?

Or, I read a little on here that the video card could be changed. Is this on top of the CD drive?

Or, do I just need a known good screen to replace it with?
Screen seems in stock here James:

https://www.proxyparts.com/car-parts-st ... id/566564/