C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stickyfinger »

vborovic wrote:
GiveMeABreak wrote:so it's not Citroen being tight on paying the Royal Mail.
Citroen can't take the blame here, the nav devices aren't made by them ... the RT6 i.e. is by Magnetti Marelli ...
Yes they can.....they fitted it :)

vborovic
Locked user account
Posts: 1753
Joined: 31 Oct 2013, 18:07
x 17

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by vborovic »

I should've been more precise in quoting, my response was in regard of the nav unit design, and the post code support ... the Citroen is responsible in the way that they aren't fixing the units, rather replacing them if some unknown error occurs ... :D ... the old ones are returned to the manufacturer for potential refurbishing ...

Peter.N.
Donor 2020
Posts: 10451
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 463

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Peter.N. »

I don't think I would bother with a built in satnav, if it did go wrong you could probably buy several TomToms for what it would cost to repair. On my budget I could buy another car for the likely cost of repairs. :wink:

Peter

Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stempy »

My Mk1 C5 has the colour sat nav. It works ok but is a pain to set up. I have the latest 2014-15 discs for it but I believe that will be the final version and is now no longer supported much like the Trafficmaster. I mostly just use my phone and Google maps now.

The screen itself takes a while to warm up these days but is fine when it up to temperature. It's nice to have all the other information it provides and you can plug in a camera or other video source if you so wish.

djoptix
Posts: 59
Joined: 30 Jun 2011, 07:18
x 1

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by djoptix »

Stempy wrote:It's nice to have all the other information it provides and you can plug in a camera or other video source if you so wish.
Ah, I was quite put off it until then. To be honest I wouldn't bother with the sat nav, there's no way it will even be as good as a Tomtom let alone Google Maps/Waze... but being able to plug in a reversing camera/dash cam would be very cool.

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stickyfinger »

But it turns off over 4 miles per hour....and you have to switch it over....so still a pain and still you cannot watch EastEnders on the Motorway :)

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Unless you have one of these & a TV tuner!
http://www.xcarlink.co.uk/product.php?p ... t=0&page=7

Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stempy »

So with one of those, if your phone has MHL you could get a HDMI to analogue converter and have the phone sat nav on the main screen.

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stickyfinger »

LOL, add all those bits or get another C5 for the same price :)

cachaciero
Posts: 1401
Joined: 13 Apr 2009, 07:24
x 7

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by cachaciero »

Bunch of likely candidates here :-) Anyone ever removed the DVD / Nav unit in a MK1? Inserted the "keys" on both sides of the unit but it don't want to come out any thoughts / knowledge?

lakanooky2
Posts: 60
Joined: 13 Dec 2011, 10:38

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by lakanooky2 »

I have the RT3 System in my facelift Estate with 2014-2015 maps, ok i have not got postcode input, but google does lol
The colour screen is connected to the head unit via optical cables, and as far as i know the wiring harness is different, so if you have the RD3 small orange/black screen
you cannot upgrade to the RT3 bigger colour screen.
I have tried to downgrade to the RD3 for a nearly a year now with no luck, so looks like i might sell it, the car that is. ](*,)

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

cachaciero wrote:Bunch of likely candidates here :-) Anyone ever removed the DVD / Nav unit in a MK1? Inserted the "keys" on both sides of the unit but it don't want to come out any thoughts / knowledge?
There are 2 covers to be removed either side first - it it's the one I'm thinking of - sent you an email with the info.

cachaciero
Posts: 1401
Joined: 13 Apr 2009, 07:24
x 7

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by cachaciero »

Hi Marc

Yes thanks for that, but that is the radio, on the Mk1 the Radio and the GPS computer are two separate items. Getting the radio out is easy, the bit I am interested in item 7201 on SEDRE, actually I am a bit confused because 7201 is described as a display controller with the GPS being shown as a separate item 8500 yet I have something else which suggests that they are one unit, anyway its 7201 that I need to remove. It has the same kind of securing arrangement as the radio but with the keys inserted I can't pull it out so am I missing something?.(SEDRE MK1 C5 RPO 91360) Siemans Navigation.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Can you PM your VIN again - Forum mailbox full! There are so many combos for this model and i'll see what I can dig up.

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19273
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1331

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by myglaren »

Marc - the mailbox should chuck the oldest PM away when one comes in that would take it over capacity.