C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Stempy »

Stempy wrote:The lock button on the dash just locks the outer handles as does a key in the door.
Great idea - so the wife's handbag won't get hijacked off the front seat at the traffic lights!
Yeah, I forgot tp mention the side exit flame thrower too.....
rob78
Posts: 57
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 18:26

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by rob78 »

ive just done a fresh install of windows on a laptop and installed diagbox 7.44 still exactly the same issue theres nothing at the obd port it wont even power my code reader up thats dead too let alone the laptop, so im thinking maybe the error lies within as even if lexia was being a pain it should still show something on my obd readers

im in lincoln, had a quick glance at the list of members not many yellerbellys on there :cry:

if i can get a codereader to power up then by process if elimination i would know the OBD port is ok and my lexia is dodgy would that not be first port of call? im gonna get some qtips and some isopropyl alcohol and try and get to the pins [-o<
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26024
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2980

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by GiveMeABreak »

How is your car battery? Secondly what about 'enonomy mode' if that is active it will keep shutting everything off? Ignition on isn't enough, needs car starting. Worth a mention.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Stempy »

Fuse 18 is for the diagnostic socket, worth a look maybe.
rob78
Posts: 57
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 18:26

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by rob78 »

right got voltage at the socket, whilst i was there I pulled the BCM and theres corrosion to two of the sockets, EH av has a little corrosion and the socket labelled EP is heavily corroded some of the SMT looks really gash the top board has loads of corrosion between links it looks terrible lol i dont have an image host or i would link to some photos. Just had an electrician walk in and asked him for a second opinion and it indeed looks goosed.

right rang BBA-Reman and its an incredibly rare unit and they dont have any nor can they get one from any supplier #-o

in the words of homer...

DOH!!!!!!

part number is 9637466180 if anyone has a spare kicking about lol
wheeler
Posts: 5267
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 316

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by wheeler »

GiveMeABreak wrote: So I can't see why there would be mention of deadlocking as a separate state if it was on all the time, i.e. the default. The whole locking function is covered under After Sales Operations, under door management. Regarding the actual remote plip - somebody would have to clarify whether changing the locking parameters would then alter the plip locking function / sequence. :-D
Because deadlocking is not standard in all countries. In the UK deadlocking is standard on the mk1 C5. You cant just activate deadlocking it either on ta car that never came with it as it has to have been fitted with deadlocking door latches. You can however reprogram a mk1 C5 with deadlocking with Lexia no not deadlock (or simple locking as Citroen call it) on the plip but not the other way around as it needs deadlocking door latches. In the UK the mk1 C5 default is that the plip is set to deadlock & the only way to not deadlock it is to use the key in the door lock barrel or the button on the dash. The mk2 Xsara is exactly the same. Not sure if the mk2 is the same but the Mk3 seems to need a double press to deadlock.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Stempy »

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20443
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1728

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by myglaren »

^ Same on my 52 an 03, both SX.
rob78
Posts: 57
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 18:26

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by rob78 »

seventieth update of the day...........thanks for the link btw

after pulling the BCM out and cleaning it all up with WD40 and a toothbrush Lexia has started working =)

only fault showing now on the BCM is no connection to the suspension ECU which was ok before I dismantled it so maybe by this (and if this is the only fault) then the BCM might not need changing? Im guessing that ive not connected something right as the suspension ECU was ok before I unhooked the BCM now its showing as an error and when i press the raise / lower buttons the display on the dash just shows a cross through the suspension picture.

Actually, its just dawned on me that this could be because I reset the BCM again once I refitted it but i didnt operate the suspension controls prior to starting the vehicle so maybe the module isnt seeing the suspension ecu because of it, i remember remapping a laguna a while back and you need to click the cruise control then the speed limiter before starting the vehicle after a remap or they "dissapear" from the main ecu and are not seen

I have found where to change the BCM parameters the doors are set to Level 1 Deadlocking, I can change it to Simple Locking Only but cannot write any parameters back to the BCM as it is asking me for a code.........

oh and incidentally, add me to the list of people with Lexia willing to help other members might be useful having someone in my neck of the woods as noone else is :-D
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26024
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2980

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by GiveMeABreak »

rob78 wrote:I have found where to change the BCM parameters the doors are set to Level 1 Deadlocking, I can change it to Simple Locking Only but cannot write any parameters back to the BCM as it is asking me for a code.........
Try 03114 Rob.
Really glad you're making progress on this. A good dose of contact cleaner will also help once you have got all the gunk off. As you mention, these boards are getting harder to get hold of, so it's the softly softly approach! :-D Hopefully, you'll get all your locking sorted out shortly.
rob78
Posts: 57
Joined: 24 Jan 2016, 18:26

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by rob78 »

thanks for the positive words Marc, ran out of daylight so will have to wait until tomorrow now but will give that a try =)
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 12007
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1510

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Do make sure to use PROPER contact cleaner (and not something like WD40), as this will give better (i.e. reliable) results.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Stempy »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:Do make sure to use PROPER contact cleaner (and not something like WD40), as this will give better (i.e. reliable) results.
Yes, and WD40 is prone to catching fire too.....
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Stempy »

If the global test shows no dialogue try selecting the suspension option and initiating dialogue that way, you may find it will restore communications.
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: C5 electrical issues (poss bcm?)

Post by Stickyfinger »

Stempy wrote:
Hell Razor5543 wrote:Do make sure to use PROPER contact cleaner (and not something like WD40), as this will give better (i.e. reliable) results.
Yes, and WD40 is prone to catching fire too.....
And can de-laminate printed boards too