ebay purchase

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

JohnD
donor 2019
Posts: 2591
Joined: 15 Mar 2001, 00:41
x 42

Re: ebay purchase

Post by JohnD »

allanmc wrote:Hi, I bought the £4 citroen manual discs on e bay last week, to cut a very long story short, I tried to download them but couldnt download No. 2 disk which tells you how to do the work I have tried to start again but am unsuccessful can someone help please
allanmc
Did you get a printed note telling you that instructions can be found on disc 1 - and if you can't get the Keygen to contact the seller? I suspect that everyone has to contact the seller and at the same time send the installation code. Before you do, try this as your keygen DHLK4WPO2CTGPNL3............. It may work.. :wink:

User avatar
spider
Posts: 3949
Joined: 05 Jan 2010, 15:28
x 63

Re: ebay purchase

Post by spider »

You'll want three discs and the install instructions.

The generator is a jar file usually.

allanmc
Posts: 314
Joined: 25 Mar 2006, 13:16

Re: ebay purchase

Post by allanmc »

Sorry I didnt get back sooner, I should have told the full story it was my son who tried to download these discs and found that the No. 2 disc was empty and also when loading No.1 it never asked for No.2 which I think might hold the instructions for doing work on the car after loading disc 3 we had diagrams of various parts of the car which was good but still no instructions, contacted the seller and he sent another set of discs but the were just the same, so my son decided to uninstall all the data but so far has been unsuccessful we have tried everything we can think of even tried to restore the computer to an earlier date but computer would not accept it can you help please

allan

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7092
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 359

Re: ebay purchase

Post by xantia_v6 »

I have bought a set of the same DVDs, and am having a similar problem.
The keygen works fine, and installation of DVD1 proceeds (rather slowly). After about 8 hours it asks for DVD 2, but the DVD drive is locked, and DVD 1 cannot be ejected.

If DVD 1 is manually ejected using a pin, and DVD 2 inserted, the drive spins up, but DVD 2 is never read, windows explorer still shows the contenets of DVD 1 and the installation program does not recognise that DVD 2 is installed. Pressing cancel causes it to abort the SEDRE installation and aks to DVD 3 which contains the Service Box software, which then installs normally (another 8 hours).

So any ideas on how to get windows XP to reset the DVD drive and actually read DVD 2, without aborting the install.

I have read online that DVD 2 contains the information for older cars, such as XMs and MK1 Xantias

User avatar
Ben82
Posts: 1087
Joined: 03 Dec 2012, 08:47
x 2

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Ben82 »

Not installed from disc, but did you close the keygen before trying to swap discs? also have you tried going into my computer and right clicking on the Drive, and clicking eject?

I did a full install of SEDRE/DocBackup (using all 3 discs version 5.2012), and don't get any wiring info for the XMs or Mk1 Xantias.

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8084
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 285

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Mandrake »

xantia_v6 wrote:I have bought a set of the same DVDs, and am having a similar problem.
The keygen works fine, and installation of DVD1 proceeds (rather slowly). After about 8 hours it asks for DVD 2, but the DVD drive is locked, and DVD 1 cannot be ejected.

If DVD 1 is manually ejected using a pin, and DVD 2 inserted, the drive spins up, but DVD 2 is never read, windows explorer still shows the contenets of DVD 1 and the installation program does not recognise that DVD 2 is installed. Pressing cancel causes it to abort the SEDRE installation and aks to DVD 3 which contains the Service Box software, which then installs normally (another 8 hours).

So any ideas on how to get windows XP to reset the DVD drive and actually read DVD 2, without aborting the install.

I have read online that DVD 2 contains the information for older cars, such as XMs and MK1 Xantias
Sounds like your drive is having difficulty reading the disk - there is no way the drive should be "locking" as Windows XP does not by default lock the DVD drive eject even when files are in use...that's a sign that the drive is having real difficulty with the disk.

I had a similar problem with my ebay copy - Disk 2 really struggled to read on the intended computer, you can tell by the drive constantly spinning up and down. I think it eventually failed to read the disk with an error then the drive could no longer read any other disks until I did a full power down of the PC. Disk 2 is mostly Sedre, if you do an install without Sedre it will skip disk 2.

Try just copying the contents of the disk to a folder on your PC to test the readability of the disk - I bet it will struggle to do that as well.

I found that while my desktop PC couldn't read the disk my laptop could (just) so I made a copy of disk 2 on the laptop and then used that to install on the other PC successfully.

Your problem is most likely just a combination of an old/tired/dirty DVD drive and a poorly written disk.

Service box is slow to install but not 8 hours per disk :lol: Even on my 2003 vintage Pentium 4 it takes around 30-45 minutes per disk.

citronut
Posts: 10938
Joined: 29 Apr 2005, 00:46
x 3

Re: ebay purchase

Post by citronut »

my son installed my version havent realy checked how much and doesnt work as yet,
although we tried looking up the workshop manual for the synegie/ulasyess, and it asked for the rp No.

didnt try further yet

User avatar
spider
Posts: 3949
Joined: 05 Jan 2010, 15:28
x 63

Re: ebay purchase

Post by spider »

Just put in a fake RP if needed just to play with it a bit, although it won't be 100% accurate.

Does it run very slowly and feel always like its on the brink of breaking ?

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9966
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 810

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

I bought a set of these discs, and mine worked without any problems. The only real issue was how long it took. Disk 3 is a dual layer DVD, with about 8GB of files to install (which took 3 hours on my PC, which is no slouch).

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8084
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 285

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Mandrake »

spider wrote:Just put in a fake RP if needed just to play with it a bit, although it won't be 100% accurate.

Does it run very slowly and feel always like its on the brink of breaking ?
Yep. :-D

On my old Pentium 4 with 1GB of ram it really pushes the ram limit of the computer. It runs a full tomcat java application webserver in the background which consumes most of the available free ram, there also seems to be an intermittent memory leak issue, about 1 out of 5 times when I launch it it never finishes loading and just keeps consuming more and more memory until the computer runs out of both physical and virtual memory, at which point the whole computer grinds to an unusable halt where I can barely log out or shut down the computer. Even when its working its quite sluggish.

Not the most efficiently written software!! :twisted: Don't even consider installing it on a machine with less than 1GB of ram, 2GB is probably recommended unless you're really patient and aren't trying to use the computer for anything else at the same time...

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8084
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 285

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Mandrake »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:I bought a set of these discs, and mine worked without any problems. The only real issue was how long it took. Disk 3 is a dual layer DVD, with about 8GB of files to install (which took 3 hours on my PC, which is no slouch).
Thinking back I might have exaggerated a bit on how quickly mine installed, it probably was about 4 or 5 hours - but that's for the whole lot, not 8 hours per disk. :twisted: It's more to do with hard drive and DVD drive performance rather than CPU speed as the installation involves copying several hundred thousand small files...

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7092
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 359

Re: ebay purchase

Post by xantia_v6 »

The vendor sent me a replacement disk 1, but it behaved the same way. I then tried installing on another XP machine (without a DVD drive) by sharing the DVD drive from the first machine, and it installed correctly. No idea what is going on....
Ben82 wrote: I did a full install of SEDRE/DocBackup (using all 3 discs version 5.2012), and don't get any wiring info for the XMs or Mk1 Xantias.
I found that also. I pointed it out to the ebay vendor and he said he had not noticed and gave me a refund.

So now off to find an earlier version...

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8084
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 285

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Mandrake »

I think you'll find that none of the versions of Sedre available include wiring diagrams for the XM or Xantia Mk1, mine doesn't have them either...

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7092
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 359

Re: ebay purchase

Post by xantia_v6 »

Mandrake wrote:I think you'll find that none of the versions of Sedre available include wiring diagrams for the XM or Xantia Mk1, mine doesn't have them either...
Which version is yours?

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9966
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 810

Re: ebay purchase

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

I have 4.0.2, and it doesn't have diagrams for the XM or the S1 Xantia.