Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive.

Tell us your ongoing tales and experiences with your French car here. Post pictures of your car here as well.

Moderators: RichardW, myglaren

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by citroenxm »

As the title edit sugests, YES I have got the cruise working on my HDi !!

And simmilar to later C series of cars very little, but a small knowledge of wiring and diagrams IS needed to do it!

Mostly followed the work of PIT (Fellow FCF Member from Bulgeria) who did most of the work in another topic here on FCF under the title Lexia or KWP2000? Retro fitting Cruise Control on a Xantia?

Here:
http://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/v ... =3&t=39257" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Wired it all up, it didnt work, BUT tonight swapped two wires over that I got mixed up in the speed switch.. wires 4 and 5.. and then hey presto, it activates the speed and keeps the speed.. but wont speed up, so they must still be wrong. There was pin numbers in the plug, but they must be wrong. The main thing is.. It works and keeps speed.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 42161
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1241

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by CitroJim »

Excellent Paul, well done! A great mod to do on a late HDi :-D

There must still be a small wiring fault on the up-speed contact wiring.. Are you using the up-speed or down-speed to initially engage cruise and is down-speed working normally?

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by citroenxm »

Just been studying the diagram but cant decide..

I use up speed to engage.. down speed does nothing.. if I pull it disengages.. if I up speed flick it goes back to the last speed memorised.. so I must have two more wires to swap on the lever and I think its wire three and five.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 42161
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1241

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by CitroJim »

That's odd Paul because up-speed is working as you'd not be able to engage cruise otherwise but perhaps it's getting confused with down-speed not being quite right maybe... Flicking down and holding for a tick or two the down-speed should also engage cruise if it works in the same way as a vacuum Hella cruise...

Unless it's a very basic cruise and that's how it is. Might be the reason it was never offered as a option..

Pure guesswork that...

KP
Posts: 3981
Joined: 10 Jul 2006, 12:11
x 7

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by KP »

Could have yourself a nice little install service there Paul installing them at meets for people with hdi's without them....

Glad it's nearly there though as not having cruise on a car drives me potty sometimes so I don't have any cars without cruise lol :D

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by citroenxm »

NO WAY Will.. theres toooo much to do.. its not a 15 min or 30min job. And no. I aint dooing another..

KP
Posts: 3981
Joined: 10 Jul 2006, 12:11
x 7

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by KP »

That's a shame, can you not pre prep some kits with the correct cable lengths and connectors fitted? With clear instructions could sell them instead...

User avatar
DHallworth
Donor 2016
Posts: 2243
Joined: 20 Nov 2005, 18:05
x 61

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by DHallworth »

I doubt there's enough HDi Xantia owners out there that want cruise control enough to merit spending the money on a kit that Paul would need to charge to make it worth his while doing.

Also getting hold of the master switch and the speed lever could become difficult.

David.

User avatar
Chris570
Donor 2020
Posts: 1482
Joined: 12 Dec 2009, 15:10
x 5

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by Chris570 »

on the 2.5 xm you can flick down to engage cruise......

I think you're right paul, swap two wires and you're there

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by citroenxm »

Yea I know chris. The idea is.. flick down or up initally to set current speed.. pull to cancel speed. Then if you slow down and tap down it should then set that new current speed but if you tap up it should speed up to the last faster speed you were dooing.

I can only tap up and if I have slowed down she speeds back up to the last memorised speed.

I think I need to swap wires 5 and 3 now... it was wires I thought were 4 and 5 I swapped to make it work to my current point.

I dont actually know the pin position on the stalk plug.

KP
Posts: 3981
Joined: 10 Jul 2006, 12:11
x 7

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by KP »

Nearly there fella, just keep at it :)

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by citroenxm »

The leather at long last has finally broke a hole through the bolster...

Cant complain at 279,708 miles...

Image

Image

Cant complain really...


As for the cruise, I swapped what I thought wires 5 and 3 over, and the result... well, interesting. - would activate the cruise at selected speed, and held on - would accellerate too!

Where + selected current speed or lower.... Hmmmmmmm... Taken the cowl off the colum now to do a Pin to Pin connection to work out the Pin Layout.

KP
Posts: 3981
Joined: 10 Jul 2006, 12:11
x 7

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. NOW Cruises NICELY :-)

Post by KP »

That leather needs a good clean and feed Paul :) may have gone even longer if you had done :p but still doing good!

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. With cruise control

Post by citroenxm »

Great result..! By using an offical xantia wiring diagram book I managed to get the proper pin outs for the cruise lever. They are NOT numbered the same order as the plastic AMP has them printed as .. so no wonder it was all over the place. Re configuredmy wire connection positions and hey presto... - now holds current speed OR slow down... + current speed, aaccellerate or resume last set speed after slowing down.. pull to cancel.. it works perfectly.

so NO .. no bsi needed, no external speed control ecu needed ah la vaccuum system.. just the hdi bosch ecu brake switch cruise lever and some simple wiring.

Now here is the clever bit that facsinates me.. there is or appears to be no clutch pedal switch.. however pressing the clutch knocks it off .. doesn't even lift the revs.. and also it only works in 4th and 5th .. and I know theres no gear selector switch on the gear box either.. it will do 30mph in 4th but not in 3rd.. the ecu has got a brake switch and clutch switch wire going into it already though. So apart from three speeed wires and brake no connection thats all that needs to goto the ecu..!

:-D :) :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

citroenxm
Posts: 7849
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 31

Re: Pauls HDI Xantia Exclusive. With cruise control

Post by citroenxm »

Oh and just turned 280k today ... and need to sort an air con leak asap .. I think the compressor body seal has gone. Ive changed all the connection seals but she still leaks.. :(