Xantia forum, a thankyou.

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

penners
My Cars:

Xantia forum, a thankyou.

Post by penners »

I have recently purchased a 1995 Xantia 1.9 TD with 110,000 miles on the clock after 2 owners. There were faults I knew of when purchased.
With help from this board and the Haynes manual, most jobs have now been completed. It takes time to understand the workings of the suspension. With a little bit of knowledge, a good book and other peoples experience you get there in the end. I do have the advantage of a working knowledge of hydraulics being a HGV mechanic by trade.
1. Oil leak & constant pulsating/ticking from the pressure side of the pump.
2. Rev counter intermitant.
3. Brakes a bit suspect.
4. No history on cam belt renewal.
5. Suspension sinks a bit when engine stops.
6. Takes 30 - 45 seconds for the "Stop Light" to go out.
Remedies.
1. Removed the outlet pipe from the pressure valve on the pump, then removed the valve, I was suspecting the seals being u/s. I found a small spring under the valve and what looked like a "seat" of some sort rather mangled. Possible the spring seat. Removed the damaged part, refitted spring & valve, refitted pipe.(The seal appeard to be ok) I still need to get to the bottom of the mangled bit, no larger than 3-4 mm diameter.
Result: Oil leak stopped but pulsating/ticking still there.
2. With the help of this board through searching thru old threads I replaced the rev counter sender @ the back of the engine. Rev counter ok now. I nearly replaced the Alternator for this due to HGV's rev counter pulse is taken from the Alternator!
3.Front brakes were fine, rear brakes partially siezed & rather worn.
Brakes now fine, will improve after rear pads are bedded in.