win2K problem

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Xaccers
Posts: 7654
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 00:46
x 3

Post by Xaccers »

I take it you're ok about the guy nearby accessing your network?

at the command prompt type:
ping john


it should give you something similar to:
C:\>ping john

Pinging john [192.168.x.x] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.x.x: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.x.x: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.x.x: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.x.x: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.x.x:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 39ms, Average = 11ms

This will show that your computer can contact john over the network.

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

hi Xac , yep he shares it with me :)


C:\Documents and Settings\john>ping john
Unknown host john.

User avatar
Xaccers
Posts: 7654
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 00:46
x 3

Post by Xaccers »

Ok (lets hope Malcom doesn't read this), is john turned on? :oops:

If it is, log into the router again and find out the IP address that john has been allocated.
Then ping that ip address.
So if john is on and has the address of 192.168.0.10, at the command prompt type
ping 192.168.0.10

if it works, run the psexec command using the ip address instead of john:

psexec \\192.168.0.10 -s net user johnnew /add

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

that wont get past Malcolm :D

Thanks Xac, but :

C:\>ping 192.168.1.6

Pinging 192.168.1.6 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.6:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 27ms, Average = 18ms

C:\>psexec \\192.168.1.6 -s net user johnnew /add

PsExec v1.96 - Execute processes remotely
Copyright (C) 2001-2009 Mark Russinovich
Sysinternals - www.sysinternals.com

Couldn't access 192.168.1.6:
The network path was not found.

Make sure that the default admin$ share is enabled on 192.168.1.6.

User avatar
Xaccers
Posts: 7654
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 00:46
x 3

Post by Xaccers »

Is john running any firewall software such as norton internet security or the windows firewall?

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

I am sure there is a firewall there Xac...

See if Jims disc arrives today and can help.. getting to the point of a reinstall of win2K now...

will try and grab what I can off the HD first, at the office...

ellevie
Posts: 386
Joined: 27 Apr 2006, 19:22

Post by ellevie »

As I understand it, as long as you don't format anything the existing user data in the "Documents and Settings" folder should remain intact when you "install a fresh copy" of Win2k. Hopefully you will then be able to create new accounts and copy the data across. I'm planning on doing a fresh install of XP and hope to be able to copy my email and skype accounts like this. I will do a backup first.

How are you getting into the laptop at the moment to "grab what I can off the HD first" ?

By the way do you have a link to "My TV" ? Google throws up quite a few different results. Is it a TV listings service or some form of TV Video Recording software ?

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

hi Ellevie

its just some cheapo tv viewing and recording software :)

Laptop and HD access, will get a lead which is standard ?pin, to USB.. and a power supply..
there should be one at work somewhere....

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

I am back in !

Jim did yuo send the disc? end of play Tue and its not here.. just worried something is up with my post :(

anyway, I made a disc from http://home.eunet.no/pnordahl/ntpasswd/

managed to get the user Guest to become an administrator, blank it's password, and unlock the user.. I am back into the machine again at last..

not sure what the consequences are... windows installer was the first thing to greet me,,

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41632
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1079

Post by CitroJim »

That's good news John :D What was the installer trying (or wanting) to install?

John, I have the most terrible confession to make :oops: :oops: The disk is still sitting here in front of me :oops: Blame a run to Somerset on Saturday and Gareth's work on Monday. It is going in the post tomorrow...

There should be no long-term problems but do create a new account with administrative rights and disable the guest account. To have a live guest account is a dangerous security risk as you have just found, albeit to your advantage!

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

:lol:
Jim no worries re: guest, will banish him straight away. and dont send the CD :) just relieved,,! thought something was up with my post!!

ellevie
Posts: 386
Joined: 27 Apr 2006, 19:22

Post by ellevie »

Well done John, I'll bet that's a relief !
Thanks also for the ntpasswd link --- could prove useful one day.