win2K problem

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

MikeT
Posts: 4838
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 186

Post by MikeT »

jgra1 wrote:guys would that wipe the C drive? ..

I am happy to try it if not...
Not if you follow the instructions but the option is there... Good luck!

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

cant find the disc.. grrrr

ellevie
Posts: 386
Joined: 27 Apr 2006, 19:22

Post by ellevie »

I've managed to get out of trouble a few times using automatic repair. It analyses the disk and may or may not offer you the repair choice depending on what it finds. Be careful not to choose the "install a fresh copy" option as this will delete your existing settings including user accounts if the advisory messages are to be believed. If everything goes well you should find your desktop and emails etc as they were before the disaster. Hopefully you should also be able to log on as well.

Another option might be to upgrade the existing Windows 2000 installation to XP. I did this very recently and my desktop, emails, etc were imported to XP exactly as they were under 2000.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41632
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1079

Post by CitroJim »

John,

I have one of those Ultimate Boot CDs. Not sure it will be the complete answer but happy to drop you a copy in the post...

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 17538
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 832

Post by myglaren »

MikeT wrote:Good point David but the problem I found with such repair consoles etc is there's no reversing them if they don't work and I've seen some really screwed up systems from it so tread with caution if you're going to try it, John.

AFAIK, it repairs/restores the operating system which IMO, is no different to just installing Win2K again - perhaps a few customisations are kept in the repair process?
I've run the repair console on XP a few times and it does pretty much reinstall XP but doesn't lose any files but you must be very careful with the options that you chose or it will erase them. :shock:
Just the same, it would be advisable to slave it to another Windows machine and backup any files you don't want to risk losing.

Note that as Windows has not been properly shut down, you can't use an Ubuntu live CD to recover any files from the drive.
This is a brilliant option otherwise as you don't need to extract the drive and shift it to another machine, just select the files and burn them to a CD* or transfer to a jump drive/external drive.

*Assuming two optical drives!

MikeT
Posts: 4838
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 186

Post by MikeT »

Yes, yes Steve, another very good point - backup first if you can!! How many times I've overlooked that one to my cost :oops:

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 17538
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 832

Post by myglaren »

Linus Torvalds wrote:Real men don't do backups!
But the rest of us should 8)

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41632
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1079

Post by CitroJim »

myglaren wrote:
Linus Torvalds wrote:Real men don't do backups!
But the rest of us should 8)
I do very regular backups, both of these forums (every day) and all of my data to that quaint old stuff called magnetic tape :D

Touch-wood, fingers-crossed, I've not needed them in anger yet...

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

thanks all , Jim if you could pop a disc in post I would be grateful :D

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41632
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1079

Post by CitroJim »

jgra1 wrote:thanks all , Jim if you could pop a disc in post I would be grateful :D
No worries John, PM me your address please...

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

Don't forget to let us know if/when it works John :)

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

I found my installation CD and tried every avenue of repair, but they all got me back to start and no login..

i tried psexec again, and it gave the same report back, even with the PC switched off ?...

red_dwarfers
donor 2017
Posts: 2522
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 18

Post by red_dwarfers »

jgra1 wrote:I found my installation CD and tried every avenue of repair, but they all got me back to start and no login..

i tried psexec again, and it gave the same report back, even with the PC switched off ?...
Ah, is \\n056pegasus the name of your working laptop or that of the 'broken' PC?
Make sure its the broken one.
After a bit of testing over our network im hedging my bets on an authentication error :oops: Still worth a try though.

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

its the lappy Kev

I dont know the name of the PC> ?

jgra1
Posts: 4479
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 18

Post by jgra1 »

i have got into the router software, and found 3 DHCP clients.. one is the lap, one is a guy nearby, and the other is ;john; so that must be the PC name of the desktop ?

but did psexec again and


psexec \\john -s net user johnnew /add


Couldn't access john:
The network path was not found.

Make sure that the default admin$ share is enabled on john.