My "love" of all things xantia...and Xm...and Cx..

Tell us your ongoing tales and experiences with your French car here. Post pictures of your car here as well.

Moderators: RichardW, myglaren

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19807
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1519

Post by myglaren »

Deanxm wrote:
Cynically though, I guess the high cost ultimately comes down to the fact that only Esso make it and it's specified only for some ZF 'boxes found in expensive cars. Therefore I guess they feel they can get away with it. Captive audience and all that.
I think so too, so no one else made an oil of the same spec then??? i wonder why that is, can you patent an oil??

D
If it has limited circulation then it probably isn't worth another oil manufacturers time to tool up/produce/distribute it at a price that will compete with Esso's and still turn a profit.

Deanxm
Posts: 3322
Joined: 18 Dec 2008, 18:57
x 42

Post by Deanxm »

Yes you could be right but as many ZF boxes used 'lifeguard5' (esso) as used D2 according to the ZF oils charts, but then i dont know how many other boxes used D2, take LHM for example, only used on citroens but there is plenty of people out there making it?

D

red_dwarfers
Donor 2020
Posts: 2525
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:59
x 19

Post by red_dwarfers »

I'm sure LHM is specified for use in a few tractors too Dean.

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19807
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1519

Post by myglaren »

There were also a range of articulated dump trucks used hydropneumatic suspension identical to and probably licensed from Citroen that likely used LHM.

The company I worked for did their advertising and I produced quite a few photo's some with cutaway diagrams of the system - it was my first contact with hydropneumatic suspension.

Sadly they have disappeared and Caterpiller has taken over the works.

This Komatsu truck has hydraulic suspension - these are built in the factory next to where I work now but I had no idea that they employed the same system. Oddly enough, the Komatsu factory used to be Caterpiller, who supplied the engines to DJB. It is all a bit of a merry-go-round.

vince
Posts: 1409
Joined: 22 May 2008, 22:29
x 3

Post by vince »

Deanxm wrote:
Cynically though, I guess the high cost ultimately comes down to the fact that only Esso make it and it's specified only for some ZF 'boxes found in expensive cars. Therefore I guess they feel they can get away with it. Captive audience and all that.
I think so too, so no one else made an oil of the same spec then??? i wonder why that is, can you patent an oil??

D
This raises an inguiging question.....At work we deal with Titan Fuchs oils. They are (the last i heard) factory fill for the PSA group alongside VAG, Merc,BMW. Id be surprised if they didnt do an oil of this grade / spec.

We have a direct line to Fuchs technical at the branch, give me a reg number to work off and i will see if i can get some :wink:

Deanxm
Posts: 3322
Joined: 18 Dec 2008, 18:57
x 42

Post by Deanxm »

I never knew some plant used LHM, how very interesting.....or sad :lol: , learn something new everyday.

D

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 44009
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1779

Post by CitroJim »

Deanxm wrote:I never knew some plant used LHM
It's what makes them green Dean :D :D

I believe JCB uses/used hydropneumatic suspension on their fast tractors (JCB GT? - the ones that can knock on at 40-odd MPH). I know this because once I was in Euro Car Parts when a person came in after spheres for his JCB. Apparantly they use BX spheres....

Deanxm
Posts: 3322
Joined: 18 Dec 2008, 18:57
x 42

Post by Deanxm »

That will be the JCB Fastrack i think, i find myself wanting to drive one now for some strange reason :lol:

D

davetherave
Posts: 880
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 21:06
x 1

Post by davetherave »

Had a day off today so have been outside most of the day!

Firstly here are the pics of the heat exchanger, as you can see i hadnt quite tighten (by jims standards causing a flood) causing a little bit of water to leak out.

Image

Image

So today I changed the oil and filter, I have to say on the xantia it would take me no time at all. On the Xm there was a lot of swearing just to get the damn filter out! Too many hoses! (admittedly some of them were ones i added!)

Below are pictures of the rust i was on about.
Image

I have sanded it back and painted it with hammerite, pictures tomorrow once the final coat is added.

I decided to tackle the dot matrix display!
The previous owner supplied one to replace it, however as you can see from the picures its not going to fit, so ill be attemting to repair the current one.
The one on the left is the correct one and the right one despite having a manafacture date of 5/7/95 does not fit!

Image

Ill update you if i get it working tonight!

Citroenmad
Posts: 8110
Joined: 04 Dec 2008, 23:08
x 28

Post by Citroenmad »

Very nice progress Dave, good luck with the display matrix, took me a while to do that this weekend but got there in the end :)

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 44009
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1779

Post by CitroJim »

davetherave wrote: (by jims standards causing a flood) causing a little bit of water to leak out.
:lol: :lol: :lol: Are you inferring Dave, I have a bit of a thing about leaks? Well you may be right. I'm positively obsessed about them and look at the drive every day for signs of automotive incontinence and wipe the top of the LHM reservoir most days :lol: Drippy cars really irritate me and going for petrol is the worst time. It staggers me just how many cars seem to drip oil and I look at mine, see an oil puddle underneath when parked at the pumps and think its mine! I really must get out more :roll:

That rust looks only superficial and a good rub down, some phospheric acid rust treatment and a few coats of Hammerite and some protective anti-rust wax should do the trick.

Good luck with the display Dave!

XantiaMan
Posts: 1603
Joined: 12 Aug 2007, 18:47
x 11

Post by XantiaMan »

CitroJim wrote:
davetherave wrote: (by jims standards causing a flood) causing a little bit of water to leak out.
:lol: :lol: :lol: Are you inferring Dave, I have a bit of a thing about leaks? Well you may be right. I'm positively obsessed about them and look at the drive every day for signs of automotive incontinence and wipe the top of the LHM reservoir most days :lol: Drippy cars really irritate me and going for petrol is the worst time. It staggers me just how many cars seem to drip oil and I look at mine, see an oil puddle underneath when parked at the pumps and think its mine! I really must get out more :roll:

That rust looks only superficial and a good rub down, some phospheric acid rust treatment and a few coats of Hammerite and some protective anti-rust wax should do the trick.

Good luck with the display Dave!
You are just like me! Just this afternoon i spotted a patch oif damp, which wasnt mine, it was a car previous. Touch wood, i've lost no water, oil, or LHM but that wont stop me checking every 5 minutes...

davetherave
Posts: 880
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 21:06
x 1

Post by davetherave »

Lol, your both paranoid!

Well ive been working on the display for the past two hours, and ive got about 10 columns not working. Think ill keep going tomorow!
I also need to get some bulbs as just taking it out has broken them!

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 44009
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1779

Post by CitroJim »

Dave, I think these are the bulbs you need. Same as the Xantia heater panel ones going by the picture of the display.

They do seem to love failing as soon as you disturb them :twisted:

Citroenmad
Posts: 8110
Joined: 04 Dec 2008, 23:08
x 28

Post by Citroenmad »

Yup i had to replace the bulbs in it too. Thought it was best while it was out anyway but one didnt work when i put it back in.

It took me around 5-6 hours to get it fully working. I kept putting it back together, finding most were not working, take it apart and spray more contact cleaner, put it together with rubbery band and wires in another place, still no good, i just kept on doing that for hours!

I did try to put a middle screw in as suggested on the xm forum, however i couldnt get one in the middle, they either have a tiny screw or have angled it right back behind all the screens.