Xantia losing coolant - but where?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

fatBoyfat

Xantia losing coolant - but where?

Post by fatBoyfat »

Can anyone help? My 96 VSX TD is losing coolant from somewhere,but I can't see any signs of a leak. It uses about a litre every 50 miles.
This is pretty recent. Back in the summer,in southern France,(v hot day 38c) the bleed cap popped its lid. I replaced it with dust cap, refilled and bled through. It was then fine for a couple of months until now.

The heater never seems to have got very hot (quite common from reading this site it seems ) and thermostat seems to be working. I can't see any leaks anywhere,carpet doesn't feel wet. Any suggestions?

I'm a newbie here but have been enjoying Xants about 5 years (this is my second) :)
dnsey

Post by dnsey »

Water pump?
The lost coolant can collect in the timing belt cover, and only drain away when you're on the move.
No sign of HG failure, I hope?
Sturdybloke

where has it gone?

Post by Sturdybloke »

Your loss of coolant could be out of the exhaust tailpipe. On my parents 1996 Ford Mondeo when I stood at the back of the car and (WITH ENGINE WARM) asked my dad to give it a very hard rev 5 or 6 times - you wouldent believe the amount of coolant that shot out (plus misfire) - you could have filled a jamjar full of it. Once I had checked over the engine I found that the head gasket was shot. Once I had dismantled forementioned cylinder head it was stripped, skimmed and rebuilt. The firing water syndrome was no more. Hope this is of some help to you - Anthony.
fastandfurryous
My Cars:

Post by fastandfurryous »

from stone cold:

Open and close the radiator cap to ensure there is no residual pressure

Start engine, allow to idle for one minute, turn off.

Now open the pressure cap again. Is there significant pressure? and does coolant blow out? if so, then the head gasket is shot.
This is not a signature.
fatBoyfat