Xantia Newbie - A few questions

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

anno888
My Cars:

Xantia Newbie - A few questions

Post by anno888 »

Hi all,
As the title says I am new to the Xantia world. Bought my first yesterday.
Anyway, there is a high pitched humming sound coming from the rear of the car. It sounds like the wheelarch areas. It is a constant humm and wondered if this was normal. It's not very load and you have to listen for it but its there.
Also, the LHM fluid indicator is way past the red line (too much fluid) is this a problem and does it effect the braking as the brakes are very toutchy (ie off or on). If so how do i drain the fluid.
Hopefully someone can help.
Cheers all.
dnsey

Post by dnsey »

Hi,
Welcome to the world of Xantias!
I'm not sure about the 'humming' - it's not normal in my experience.
Could be a noisy wheel bearing perhaps, or the exhaust contacting the underpan slightly, otherwise there's not much to make a noise. Try jacking up the back and spinning each rear wheel.
As far as LHM level goes, did you check it with the car stabilised on maximum suspension height? At lower heights, the fluid will rise, and the indicator will contact the top of the dome. Even if it is too high, it won't do any harm, but might make a bit of a mess.
The brakes sound normal for Citroen, especially Xantia. Unlike most vehicles, your foot's on a control valve which operates the brakes by hydraulic pressure, and it does seem very 'positive' until you get used to it - but you will!
cheers,
dave.
Kowalski
My Cars: Ex 05 C5 2.0 HDI Exclusive 145k
Ex 97 Xantia 1.9TD SX 144k
Ex 94 Xantia Dimension 1.9TD 199k

Post by Kowalski »

Does the humming happen when the car is stationary or only when it's moving?
The only things in the rear of the car that could make noise are the brakes and the wheel bearing, and they'd only make noise when the car is moving.
bernie
My Cars:

Post by bernie »