RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: RichardW

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 09:14

Hi all

Sorry not been active, I've had an awful lot on my plate the last few months, most of it not happy.

Anyway, need some help please. Last night I tried to upgrade the stereo in my (now ex :( ) gf's C2 to an RD45 and it wasn't playing.
Installed the new (type C) display screen from a DS3 and that worked fine plug-play (nb: I've just realised that I haven't updated the settings in the car to tell it that it has a type C screen, will try that today) the stereo plugged in and works fine but of course beeps because the VIN doesn't match.
I've tried in Lexia to update it and it's refusing to talk to the stereo. Some screen shots;
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
On the global test it has logged a fault with the stereo;
ImageImage
Which I think was just from the old one being unplugged when I changed it.
ImageImage
I also have these shots, which I have completely forgotten what step in the process they cam from. May have been when I tried to access the fault log in the stereo itself?
ImageImage
When I run a global test, it shows a "?" in the "communication" column, against the multifunction display and the radio.

The RD45 is reportedly out of a 2016 Berlingo.

Anyone have any ideas please?
I really need to get this solved so I can give the car back to her.

Also, on a related matter... I bought a loose flying lead for USB which I've routed out via the steering column, but the stereo actually came with a replacement cubby hole insert, that has a built in 'Aux' socket covered by a flap. Under the flap it has a USB socket and a 3.5mm Jack. It would be much neater to use this if I could, but I don't have the right harness. Does anyone know what harness is needed to connect between the harness and the aux socket?

Listing for the stereo here;
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RD45-stereo- ... 7675.l2557
You can see the cubby hole with Aux socket, there.
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 27 May 2018, 10:07, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Placed Images into tables to reduce post size

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11620
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: RD45 - can't update VIN

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 May 2018, 09:33

Iain, you won’t be able to configure the MFD (Multi Function Display) as the ECU in the screen is too new for Lexia. Lexia is not capable of talking to it as it is too new. Anything post 2007 ish you may have problems with as Lexia does not have the capability to interface with it on a software level. You need Diagbox.

Having said that about the programming and configuring of the ECU, you may still find that the screen is not compatible with the car’s electronic architecture, as the C2 may be different to the architecture of the 2016 Berlingo.

The MFD is also different depending on the architecture and whether a hands-free kit is fitted.

If you just want to put it back 'as it was' with the standard RD4 radio and screen:
Screen Orig: (use any of these)
RP 98 073 070 80
6155 EX
6156 EY

Screen Panel Orig (trim surround)
6563 NC

RD4 Orig Head Unit (use any):
6564 ZG
RP 16077504XT
6579 20

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 10:28

Hi, I have the original stereo and screen (I've taken those out because I wanted to upgrade).
Screen type C is an option in the settings on the car, I recall that (I just didn't select it).

So diagbox...
I'm sure that's what I have (the icon I open is called "diagbox") I just always default to selecting Lexia on the screen that opens after selecting the Marque and the Car (IIRC a screen pops up that gives two options, Lexia and... I forget what the other one is). Are you saying I shouldn't select Lexia, I should chose the other one?
This adventure into unknown will be scary stuff :lol:

EDIT: from memory (don't have the laptop in front of me right now) the other option is "SCANTOOL"

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11620
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 May 2018, 11:00

Nearly Iain - your issue is likely to be that Lexia is launched correctly, as that is compatible with the C2 for the year. However, the ECU in the MFD is 2016, which Lexia cannot communicate with, so you cannot configure it. So a catch 22 - of course as you can't launch Diagbox on your vehicle.

So:
  • Either source an older Multi Function Display unit that was available on models around the year of the C2, with an older ECU that Lexia can talk to, or;
  • As you are passing the car on anyway, you could just put the original unit and MFD back in and let said third party update it themselves :-D

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 11:39

Now back with the car and laptop.
Yep, Scantool is the other option.
I have diagbox version 7.62

I don't really like the last option tbh. I need to get this finished and finished right (that's just me).

Is it the multi function display that's the problem then? Not the radio?
The display works perfectly. I only changed the display because the old one wouldn't be compatible with the rd45.

So will this car not talk to diagbox then, only to lexia?
And the radio won't talk to lexia, only to diagbox?
Is that the problem?

I'm which case... If I this rd45 was put in a more modern Citroen that will talk to diagbox and the correct vin for this c2 programmed into it via that car, and then radio swapped back to the c2... Would that work?

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by EDC5 » 27 May 2018, 12:58

I've had some experiences using nearly brand new RD45's and diagbox. My version of diagbox is from 2009, however when I tried to program a new RD45 it complained that the ECU was not recognised. It then gave me the option of manually selecting the RD45 from a list and it worked fine.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 15:01

Hi EDC
thanks for that reply. What car was that you were fitting it to?
And where did you find the option to change the headunit type?
Thanks

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11620
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 May 2018, 16:22

I think that is the issue - EDC5 has an X7 which uses Diagbox and your C2 doesn't - so the encapsulated Lexia software is too old for the ECU on the MFD / Head Unit.

You can try Iain with Lexia and as EDC5 says - see if there is a manual selection - but if it is not recognising the ECU then I don't think that will work - but let us know. If the MFD is a 2016 model then as I mentioned earlier - it may not be identified by Lexia due to the software age.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 21:51

Ok, some more testing/progress today...

Avoiding the 'diagnosis' section did indeed appear to be fruitful (of sorts)
Lots of screenshots (since that is by far the best way to tell the story/covering all questions);
Image
ImageImage
Image
ImageImage
Image
Image
ImageImageImageImage
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
(RESULT! Just what I wanted to do, right?!)
Image
I selected No (obvs)
Image
So at that point I was thinking... Great... So, err... Does that mean it has done the radio anyway?

So I had bought and plugged in a USB flying lead for it;
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Car-Radio-St ... SwnGha9KHz
So assumed I needed to enable it?;
Image
Image
Image
Image
Selected no (RD45 isn't one of those, right?)
The next message is great...
Image
Because immediately after doing that, it tells you to do this
Image
Image
:rofl2:
Image
Image
So at this point QUESTION; should I have said yes in the earlier post, where it asked if I had a telematics unit?
Image
Image
Image
Image
At this point another QUESTION; It refers to "USB box". So... does that actually mean a box rather than just a lead? Should I not have tried to follow this route? Anyway...
Back to this old chestnut;
Image
Then this;
Image

So that was it? 8-[

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 22:00

Ran a diagnostic next;
Image
So it has Communication with both the screen and the radio.
Image

Time for a closer look...
Thought I would start with the multifunction screen;
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Looks bad at that point, but...;
Image
Image
It can read everything fine.
Image
Image
Ok, well we'll try and clear that and then disable it then...
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Result! It reads the screen absolutely fine;
Image
I started disabling things that aren't fitted;
Image
(Grey is changed)
Image
Image
Image
Image
Nothing wrong there, so onto the next one...
Image
Image
Same as before, I disabled stuff that the car doesn't have (Grey is changed);
Image
Image
So that's the screen all set up. Yippee!!!

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 22:27

Now onto the radio, which should go just as well, right?;
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
So it can read it fine, although it doesn't know who gave birth to it :lol:
Image
Image
So same as the multifunction screen - I need to clear the fault and disable parking assistance.
But QUESTION, any idea on the second fault??? Do you have that code listed anywhere Marc?

Image
Fail!
Image

Image
Image
Image
Bugger;
Image
I tried that 3 times and same result...

Onto config and hope for a better result?
Image
Image
Image
Image
QUESTION; what "ECU" is it referring to? The car? Lexia???
This seems to be the crux of the problem so if I can just get past that..?

Image
Image
Bum! :x
So I just can't seem to connect to the radio.

So onto reading the fault log;
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Presumably because I haven't managed to clear the faults from the stereo.

Those faults in the radio again...
Image
Image
Image
Image


So like I say, the modern multifunction screen is absolutely fine, but can't talk to the radio - why? Diagbox/Lexia version? Or the Car?
If the car... do we think I could plug it into a more modern Citroen/Pug, go into it via diagbox/lexia, disable parking assistance and put the correct VIN for the C2 into it, then swap it into the C2 and all would be well???
Really grateful for any thoughts/help guys.

Oh and as for the USB...
I plugged my HTC into it and it started charging. Switched the radio source to "Input 1" (displaying a 3.5mm jack symbol) told my phone i was happy sharing files when it asked and tried to play a streaming radio channel - came out of the phone speakers, not the stereo.
nb: I don't have any downloaded music files on my phone to try and was out of time (needed to get home to try and work on my Prelude while it was still light!)
If the USB is working correctly, would you expect it to play a streamed channel? Or will it only play files?

Also...
Does anyone have access to the operating manual for the RD45 (link?)? It would be good to read up answers on questions like that, plus how to pair to it via bluetooth - or has that been detailed on the forum somewhere?

Many thanks all.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 27 May 2018, 23:17

FWIW, this lot reckon a C2 can take the RD45 with hands free etc.;
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Citroen-C2-B ... 1ca155ef0f

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11620
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 May 2018, 23:42

The parking assistance is not contained in the audio Head unit - it is a separate module and will be found under the ECUs in the Global Test Iain.
The Head Unit is connected to the MFD screen, so errors may be related to one or both of these units, or one may be too new for the other - each has software versions within the ECUs of each unit that need to be able to talk to one another and the BSI of course.

I see an issue with the Comms Unit (Module Under the Steering Wheel) - as in no communication - was that a previous fault now cleared?

As for the USB - no that's not for the cable, that is for the USB 'Box; that was available from Citroen allowing iPad and Aux in Capability for MP3 players - so it is probably looking for the unit which doesn't exist most likely.

Also the NOMAD unit is the bluetooth hands free unit - so I think you also need to disable that too.

The parking assistance issue likely means the head unit ECU can't find it on the car - which was probably on the previous vehicle the head unit was fitted to - so disabling that and ensuring that parameter is saved should stop that message.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by wurlycorner » 28 May 2018, 00:29

Yeah the car has had that comms unit fault since we bought it.
Everything seems to work fine though, so I have no idea what it is going on about.
I tried investigating it when we first got the car but didn't get anywhere (I forget the details but I tested all functions on parameter measurement and everything was feeding back ok).

I would love to disable the parking assistance... If only I could!
That fault wasn't there before I installed the new multifunction display and RD45 and there is no parking assistance listed on the global test (there is only one other line that comes up from the screenshot I posted, which is the power steering ecu, just off the bottom of that list)
I have disabled parking assistance on the display, so the only place it could be coming from must be the stereo surely - which is where it says it's picking the fault up from.

So are you saying you think the problem is that the MFD is ok for the car, but the head unit doesn't like the MFD?
FYI, the screen was this listing;
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CITROEN-DS3- ... 7675.l2557

Thanks for info on the USB box.

Should that USB lead that I have bought, just 'work' with the RD45 then? And it should allow music files to be played through the head unit? (that is what I was hoping)

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11620
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: RD45 install - can't update VIN / no communication

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 May 2018, 12:19

The MFD is possibly too new for the C2 - the software version will be a lot newer than Lexia is aware of.

Next, as the MFD came from another car - is may have retained some settings in the ECU within the MFD that relate to the parking assistance of the original vehicle is was from, so cannot find it in the C2, ergo your older Lexia software cannot change the configuration to disable it. Whether this is in the Head Unit or the MFD I can't say from here of course.

In case it helps, here are the RD45 Configuration Parameters (for a C5 X7 - but should be similar for the C2) Anything coded with a (2) is a default value that must be configures as such. As you can see this unit supports streaming and USB (if other modules are fitted) - but the values with a (2) must still be coded as such.

Lexia may show this slightly differently and in a different order and with slightly different descriptions - so be aware.
Click to Zoom
RD45 Config.PNG
X7 RD45 Configuration