Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: RichardW

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Sep 2017, 18:52

On the later C5 X7s, with the SMEG (touchscreen) display, it has a different electrical architecture again, so some of the physical buttons for parking assistance and other features have been removed, including the need for a head unit and independent controls. So this screen is the head unit and handles the data from the ECUs differently. That's another reason why the SMEG system is not backward compatible with earlier X7s as the electronics are different again.

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by EDC5 » 19 Sep 2017, 19:11

I see, it makes sense really to integrate the functions into as few components as possible really. Although one of the main things I like about the X7 is the sheer number of buttons for all of the features... much better than any touchscreen solution.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Sep 2017, 20:02

Ditto - I hate touch screens with a vengeance. As we speak, I am battling with IOS 11, restoring my iPhone for the 4th time tonight and I kid you not, trying to type passwords into the on-screen keyboard is doing my head in. 15 times to enter a flipping password. I swear Apple do it so that you'll have to buy another phone once you've thrown the last one out the window during a stress! :evil:

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by EDC5 » 19 Sep 2017, 20:08

GiveMeABreak wrote:
19 Sep 2017, 20:02
Ditto - I hate touch screens with a vengeance. As we speak, I am battling with IOS 11, restoring my iPhone for the 4th time tonight and I kid you not, trying to type passwords into the on-screen keyboard is doing my head in. 15 times to enter a flipping password. I swear Apple do it so that you'll have to buy another phone once you've thrown the last one out the window during a stress! :evil:


I've had a few iPhones and currently my 7 is running the same iOS it had from the factory, I'll update it once, once they've ironed the bugs out in iOS 11 (probably around Christmas time). My 5S was ruined by constant updates slowing it down I feel!

A touchscreen in a car sounds like a disaster to me! Although it does allow the manufacturer to add in features through a software update that doesn't require the fitting of a hard switch.

So does the SMEG unit act as a graphical front end to the BSi then ?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Sep 2017, 22:02

With the SMEG, it controls all the audio, probably DAB on that one too, and it will now display other info like the temp, time, visual parking sensors and some of the configuration options - although a lot of those are on the small dash menu as you know.

It's like the RT6 with Mirascripts - they managed to pull additional data and info onto the display that was not generally available on the bog standard RT6. Having said that, some tried to pull through some other data and the unit crashed - so again everything like that carries a mental health warning!

I remember playing about with the RT3 full colour display I had on my C5 MK II. I swear the voice synthesis was lifted directly from the demon in the Excorcist. I used a utility to replace some of the voice instructions with some others, but found that they had to be the EXACT number of bytes so as not to upset the location on the hard drive. Spent hours on it trying to get a 'yardy' voice, but nearly ended up bricking the unit, so had to do a complete system install and all the maps (from a CD) - so that learnt me - 4 hours with the engine on to get everything back! :roll: :roll:

Yardy:

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by EDC5 » 19 Sep 2017, 22:23

That's a lot of diesel for a software update! although a custom voice sounds good. I'd have gone for a thick french accent myself :luv:

Mirascripts sound interesting.. makes me want to get a RT6.... although I couldnt handle another infotainment upgrade at this point... too stressful.
GiveMeABreak wrote:
19 Sep 2017, 22:02
probably DAB on that one too
Bastards! Cant believe my RD45 had the DAB connector but not the electronics for it!

elma
Posts: 3745
Joined: 13 May 2007, 02:17
x 212

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by elma » 20 Sep 2017, 08:16

Haptic touch screens will make a hell of a difference. Shouldn't be too long before they start fitting them. I find standard touchscreens damn dangerous in cars. The cactus is the worst I've been in. Everything is controlled on the screen from the stereo to the aircon. The buttons all move about depending which screen you select. Makes turning the temperature up/down quite dangerous.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 20 Sep 2017, 09:16

Yes James the Cactus screen is quite horrendous. I’ve driven about 3 of these and I hated the display. I mean it took ages to locate the correct screen for the heating controls and then tap tap tap for 10 minutes to get it set as I wanted it, then another 5 minutes min to pair my phone in another menu. Then trying to get the radio set to the right station (even though it does have DAB) took an age. Then trying to get the right info displayed and turn the damned ECO mode off etc., you get the picture. All of these things I can do very quickly on my NG4 with a physical button (Phone, Nav, Media, etc.) or just turn the temp dial to what I want. With a touchscreen you have to physically look at the screen (taking eyes off road or stop) to find the virtual button, menu changes, hunt about for the right setting and more virtual buttons .... it takes 4 times as long.

By trying to consolidate all the controls they’ve made a fatal design flaw that makes it harder to locate and do what you want whilst taking an age. Not well thought out at all and the designers have not put themselves in the driver’s position whilst dreaming this one up, but have again thought it up from behind a computer screen at a desk!

At worse, if your screen throws a wobbly, you are totally stuffed, no temp control, demisting , tunes, tel, or anything else.

User avatar
patriotbarrow
Posts: 14
Joined: 18 Sep 2017, 12:01
x 1

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by patriotbarrow » 20 Sep 2017, 14:33

Veering slightly back on topic (just for a spell, promise), there may be a chance for the Bluetooth to work with just an RD45 head unit. The display on the Picasso is the dot matrix type like in this photo: http://motor-inside.com/wp-content/uplo ... cockpit.jp , so I'm thinking it's the proper one for all them bluetooths and USBs and whatnot. Since an RD45 is easy for me to find I'll take the risk and get one. Hopefully that'll be enough. :)

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 20 Sep 2017, 14:44

Yes, sorry about that, we do tend to wander here! That link you posted is blank unfortunately - so no picture, but I suspect it's as I originally said, the basic info is integrated into the car's normal display unless you have the large colour screen for the sat nav etc.

Take a chance on it (remember you will likely need to have the configuration changed using a Lexia), and if it doesn't work you can always sell it on.

User avatar
patriotbarrow
Posts: 14
Joined: 18 Sep 2017, 12:01
x 1

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by patriotbarrow » 21 Sep 2017, 15:39

Whoopsiedaisy; the link is missing a "j" at the end.

http://motor-inside.com/wp-content/uplo ... ockpit.jpg
It's the dot-matrix display widely found on many Citroen models of the era.

I'll be getting the RD45, then, so fingers crossed. I see that Lexia is also widely available for sale and not terribly expensive so I may pick one up to also deactivate automatically folding mirrors because winter is right around the corner.

I don't mind the wandering; I enjoy reading about other people's experience with their cars. That's why I'm making a youtube series on just that. :)

PS: Is there a recommended Lexia interface? Or just any old version 3 will do?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 21 Sep 2017, 17:16

That's the display I thought it was - so all the info will appear on that screen. Fingers crossed anyway! Regarding the Lexia - an emphatic No to just any old one. Some of the cheaper Chinese clones are not full-chip kists so are missing some hardware components, making them unusable with some models and ECUs.

Many here including myself recommend Easydiagnostics - there's also a discount for members. They also provide backup support in the UK.

See this announcement:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=57990

User avatar
patriotbarrow
Posts: 14
Joined: 18 Sep 2017, 12:01
x 1

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by patriotbarrow » 24 Sep 2017, 23:46

A bit on the pricey side, with shipping and all. I have found slightly less expensive kits for sale locally; but if I can't test before I buy, I'll most likely go for Easydiagnostics.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 25 Sep 2017, 05:13

Yes, not as cheap, but you know you are getting the full lkit and UK support. Plus if it does not work on your vehicle, you can return it easily enough.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11630
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Is upgrading RD43 to RD45 feasible?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Sep 2017, 12:08

I've now split the Electrochrome Mirror topic off into it's own thread on the Citroen Forum here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=58664&p=551752#p551447