Diagbox - I will read this once and once only

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

petef
My Cars: DS DS5, C4 Coupe, DS23 Pallas, Xantia Activa

Diagbox - I will read this once and once only

Post by petef »

So I decided to update to Diagbox from my venerable Lexia software that I have been using successfully for several years.
I initially installed Diagbox 7.02 on a fairly ancient HP Pavilion laptop operating on XP Pro SP3. Although installation and activation were ultimately ok, the spec of the HP made Diagbox very slow to load and incredibly slow to shut down - about 15 mins....! However the first time I used it with my original Actia 9780.Z5 clone on my C5 it did work. It identified the car VIN number and ran through the global tests no problem, dialogue with all ecu's being established. However it only did this once. Whilst the software still loads and the HP recognises the Actia as operating normally, there has never been any further communication with the C5 and also my wife's C4 that I have tried it on. Manually inputting VIN numbers also results in no dialogue with the cars.
Thinking that the fault might ultimately lie with the laptop, I managed to blag a more modern Acer from a friend and put Diagbox on this. This runs Windows Vista which I appreciate isn't recommended for Diagbox. However the installation and activation were successful and, this time, everything runs much more rapidly with very quick load up and close down of the software. Trying the system on the C5 everything worked well - but once again for the first time only. Subsequent tests in the C5 and the C4 resulted as before - no dialogue. The Actia is, as before, recognised by the laptop and indicated as working properly in Device Manager so not a driver problem with Vista
There is no problem with the Actia - I have gone back to using my old trusty Sony Vaio/Lexia system with it and it works fine.