Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 23:08

That isn't correct. If you look at the wiring diagram for the audio system, you will see that the Navigation ECU is connected to the audio head unit via the VAN network connection 1, to the display ECU. The BSI communication to the head unit is via connection 11 and then back to the display ECU by connection 5 etc. The audio wire you are referring to is just for the voice synthesis output which is simple audio.

This is how all the equipment talks to each other on a multiplexed network.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 18 Nov 2016, 08:10

Yes, you are very right, Marc.
I am looking at the wiring diagram and at the installation diagram. The Navigation ECU has 9 wires: 6739, XE85A, XE850, B8500, 9005E, 9004E, 8510, 8509, M8500 and the satellite antenna. XE85A, XE850, B8500, 9004E and 9005E are connected to the display ECU and the Control under the steering wheel. 6739 is connected to the stability unit, and M8500 to the common. 8509 and 8510 are audio signal wires delivering navigation system synthesized voice, and are connected to the audio head unit. That is why I am guessing that the GSM phone inbuilt in the audio unit should work without the navigation ECU being connected. I might be wrong.
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 18 Nov 2016, 17:04

Well I think that's everything I have on this unit, so best of luck getting it to work.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 18 Nov 2016, 17:44

Thank you very much Marc!

I've tried several SIM cards today, and I am quite sure the problem of the inbuilt phone is with the GSM operator. Tomorrow I'll change it, and I hope the phone would work.
I've also made 6 of the 9 connections of the Navigation ECU. The good news is I didn't damage anything. Moreover, the two LEDs ("CD" and "ON") are lit, and the CD is working (I mean, the ECU ejects the CD). But on the display doesn't appear anything related to the navigation, only the old information. I still have to make one connection with the stability unit, the two audio connections with the RT2 and the connection with the satellite antenna. Probably everything would work fine, then.
There is a single matter that bothers me. Even when I turn off the key, the two LEDs on the Navigation ECU remain lit. Should they?
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 18 Nov 2016, 19:00

Hard to say, but the ECUs on a multiplexed car usually stay on for a few minutes after the ignition is switched off and the car doors closed / locked before everything goes to sleep.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 18 Nov 2016, 19:16

I think it should switch off. I didn't wait long enough to see it, because I didn't make all the connections, yet. So, I disconnected the Navigation ECU. I'll wait till Monday, because I am waiting for the navigation audio line transformer (code 8506/8507) that makes the connection between the Navigation ECU and the RT2. I can hardly wait! There are only a few more steps and I'll succeed without any help from the service that shirk it. The only help that I get was from you.
Thank you once again, Marc!
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 18 Nov 2016, 20:14

No worries, I just hope the diagrams are enough for you to crack the job. If you do get it working, on my old car with RT3 Navidrive, because we can't get dual sims anymore, I bought a pay as you go sim and put that in the car. Then on my mobile phone I just used **21* car phone number here # to divert my calls to the car phone when I was driving, then ##21# on my mobile phone to Undivert the calls. I set both these up as contacts 'car divert' and 'car undivert' and that worked perfectly and stopped having to swap SIM cards from car to mobile all the time! :-D
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 18 Nov 2016, 20:51

The diagrams are OK. At least till now. As I said, I can hardly wait to make all the connections and see it working. Mainly because it was difficult and I would have done the job by myself. I was and still am flabbergasted that the local Citroen service shirked the job, although we have a very good and long relationship.
Upon getting the phone working I intend to do the same as you did.
0 x

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 22 Dec 2016, 17:09

Finally, after more than two month of trying I succeeded in installing by myself my RT2 navigation system. I have to do it by myself because the local Peugeot/Citroen service declined any help. Everything is working fine except one thing.
When I am using the original old navigation CD, the CD-ROM is reading it and the system is doing its job. When I am trying a newer CD for my RT2, the system says it is unreadable. I change it with another new one, but to no avail.
I checked out the files. On the old CD there are 30 files, on the new ones there are only 5 files. But the vendor assures me the new CDs are especially for my RT2 and that it is for the first time that someone is complaining about this.
Does anybody know what is all about? Any idea?
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 22 Dec 2016, 17:42

What version of firmware is the system using? - generally when new maps are applied with certain features, a new firmware is required before the system will install or read them. I believe the last firmware update for this system made and ever will be is V8.0 for the RT2. I have this if you need it.


One other thing - I believe that if this is for the Siemens / VDO system they made 2 versions of the mapping software - one for the colour system and one for the monochrome system. They are not interchangeable. This is unusual, but was the case way back then for this system. So if you have the wrong version that could be another reason why it won't work.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 22 Dec 2016, 18:08

I don't know for sure what firmware version the system is using.
The old original CD is a 2003 NAVTECH ON BOARD. Is this helpful?
When I insert the CD, the navigation system installs the needed software. But when I insert the new CD, the system doesn't install anything. It just says the CD is unreadable. But as I said, on the new CD there are only 5 files.
And yes, I think I need the last firmware update you have, please!
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 22 Dec 2016, 18:23

Yes Navtech On Board made the mapping software for the VDO system. Maybe the firmware will fix the issue. I've sent you the link in a PM. You'll need to burn the files to a CD - but use a very slow speed and and an older CD-R format if possible - as some of the newer CDs may have reading issues on your older hardware.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 22 Dec 2016, 18:39

Thank you very much, Marc!
I'll try anything you teach me. I am very upset because after such a laborious work I cannot enjoy the system.
So, please bear with me a little. After you send me the link, I'll burn the files on a CD using a very slow speed.
After that I'll insert the CD into the CD-ROM, let the system install the latest version, then remove the CD and insert the new navigation CD I already have. This time, the system should read the new navigation CDs.
Did I understand correctly?
0 x

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 7023
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
Location: Reading
My Cars: C5 Mk1 VTR estate, Icelandic Grey (I think she is called "Bluebird")
x 264

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 22 Dec 2016, 18:59

As Marc said, make sure to get hold of some CD-R discs. Some older CD drives cannot handle either CD+R or CD R/W discs. The slower the writing/reading speed of the CDs the better. Modern drives will recognise the capabilities of the discs inserted, and will handle them at the best speed the disc can handle. Then (with any luck) the drive in the car will also be able to read the discs.
0 x
James
ex BX 1.9
ex Xantia 2.0HDi SX
ex Xantia 2.0HDi LX

C5 VTR HDi estate, 76518762
Out amongst the stars, looking for a world of my own!

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 22 Dec 2016, 20:26

Thanks, James!
I'll do exactly as you and Marc told me. I hope it'll work. I let you know if it did.
0 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest