Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 21 Oct 2016, 21:57

Thank you, Marc. I'll be surfing all night long the link you sent me. I hope I'll find the Pin Out Diagram I am so eagerly looking for.
Thanks again!
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 21 Oct 2016, 22:53

No problems, best of luck :wink:
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 21 Oct 2016, 22:57

Thanks a lot, Marc!
0 x

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 17 Nov 2016, 16:33

Two days ago I finally found the diagrams I needed. Citroen was of no use. Now I have to make the connections by myself. And I'll to it!
But, there is a little question if anybody could answer. I can't use the phone mode on the RT2 (Clarion JE-3002U(I)). If there is no SIM in it, it display the message "No SIM". When I insert the SIM, the RT2 recognizes it, but after a few seconds it displays "Rech. GSM" and nothing happens. I cannot access any commands for the phone mode. Can anyone help me, please? What is wrong?
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 16:46

Now I'm not certain, but isn't "Rech." an abbreviation for Recharge? In other words does it need topping up with more credit to work? There may be a minimum amount needed.
0 x
Marc

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 16:54

There's also one other thing you need to consider - some of the earlier built in car phones only work with 2G SIM cards and therefore won't be compatible with a newer 3G or 4G SIM. So it may not work unless you can find a mobile operator that still supplies these - but that might be difficult inn this day and age! :cry:
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 17 Nov 2016, 19:01

The SIM card is new, compatible and has enough credit. And the RT2 recognizes it.
Both my local Vodafone and Orange operators are still working with them, although they have 3G and 4G, also.
I was thinking about the antenna or the microphone. Maybe there is something wrong with them. I asked the local Citroen service electrician and he said that the GSM phone won't work till the connection of the RT2 with the navigation unit (Siemens CEM1) is not made. But this is absurd. The navigation unit has nothing to do with the GSM phone inbuilt in the RT2.
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 19:21

So as long as you have this pre-equipment installed and have coded it to your car, it should work - I've translated it, so may be of use as a checklist / info.

PRESENTATION
The vehicle can receive three types of radios:
radio cassette mechanics: RB2,
compact disc radio: RD2,
radio: RT2.

variants:
with or without power amplifier (HiFi) for RD2 and RT2.

The vehicles have the following series of pre-equipment:
pre-wired speakers and tweeters,
pre-wiring the car radio,
cabling antenna feed,
impedance housing,
a short amplified antenna.

The series radios are associated with a removable drive under the steering wheel switch module.

CHARACTERISTICS
Car radios (RB2, RD2 and RT2) are protected by a code corresponding to the last 8 digits of the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number). A setting of + APC, the BSI verifies its pairing with the car radio. If it does not, it switches scrambled mode.

The radio telephone RT2 provides the functionality of a GSM mobile phone combined with a hands-free kit:
sending and receiving calls with automatic disconnection of the active audio source when taking calls,
display of telephony features on the integrated LCD screen radiotelephone
acquiring the voice of the user by a specific microphone in the base of the dome,
restitution of the speaker's voice through the speakers of the vehicle,
management of SMS messages (TV spots)
Emergency call,
compatibility with a remote handset.

The information display on car radios was deported to the multifunction display.

Speakers Features:
dash: 2 tweeters,
front doors: 2 speakers (boomers, diameter 165 mm)
Rear Doors: 2 speakers (boomers, 165mm diameter).

HiFi variant is equipped with:
dash: 2 medium / tweeters,
front doors: 2 speakers (woofers, 165 mm diameter)
Rear Doors: 2 speakers (woofers, 165 mm diameter) and 2 tweeters,
Safety: 4 x 20W amplifier 1,
under front seat: Compact disc changer multiplex.

Input connector (8-way black)
Diag 1.png
Connector outputs (white 8-way)
Diag 2.png
Connector interface compact discs 20 tracks
Diag 3.png
All vehicles equipped with a series of radio (RB2, RD2) have the following pre-handsfree equipment:

Hands-Free Pre-equipment:
a specific GSM antenna integrated radio function,
an aerial cable (coaxial) specific radio / GSM,
power cables (power supply, micro cable)
a radio link (MUTE + HP).

Note: The handsfree kit is offered in Accessoirie. The hands-free kit contains a bracket to attach to the side of the central facade.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 17 Nov 2016, 20:24

Marc, thank you very much for the checklist!
So, everything is right. I previously had a RB2 radio-cassette-CD player with a Compact disc changer multiplex. All the pre-equipments are in place. I made the connections, and the service paired the RT2 with my car. The radio and the CDs are working fine, but the GSM phone doesn't work at all. I asked the service about this, but they are not very interested because the car and the RT2 are pretty old and time consuming for them. That is why I have to do it by myself. The following days I have to connect the Siemens navigation system CEM1. I hope at least this will work. But what about the GSM inbuilt phone?
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 20:34

Ok, well I can tell you that I did have problems even with my RT3 Navidrive system on my C5 MkII with the sim card. Bluetooth wasn't available back then with this system. I can't remember now, but I definitely had problems with one of the SIMS from either Orange or Vodafone - I had to go into the store and get them to provide me with one that would work. In the end I got one from Vodafone, but it was fussy about the SIM until I used the new one from Vodafone than it worked.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 17 Nov 2016, 21:16

Thank you very much! Any advice is very useful. I'll try tomorrow to change the SIM and see what happens.
Although is old, I like this car very much. I prefer it to a VW 10 years younger. And I want for it the original old electronic stuff, not any gizmo.
Thanks again, Marc!
1 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 21:38

I've found some more documents that might help work out the problem and I've emailed them to you. The Monochrome Displays A B & C handle functions differently from the large Colour Display screen D. On the large colour screen, a lot of the processing is controlled by the display ECU, including the telephone management. If you read carefully through the documents - including the audio document, you will see that the wiring is way different where a colour screen is fitted - and I'm thinking that the RT2 system would of had the large colour screen. The wiring diagrams are useful too for the layout and the components - including the navigation aerial all linking up into the unit - so might be some sense in what your mechanic said. Anyway have a look.
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 17 Nov 2016, 21:44

Thank you once again, Marc!
I have the RT2 with the monochrome display. I'll have a look through the documents, and see what idea might come to me.
0 x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: Past
'76 GS 1000, '79 GS 1220, '78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic
'84 CX 20, '90 XM 2.0 SX, '93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige, '98 C15 Romahome, '99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX, '05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive
Present
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive (The Silver Hornet)
'09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive (The Golden Hornet)
x 331

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by GiveMeABreak » 17 Nov 2016, 21:56

No problems - the bit of interest in reference to what I said above is the section in blue in the Colour Screen Document:
CAUTION : The same functions that are managed by multifunction screens type A, B and C (monochrome screens), are managed by the display ECU in colour screen versions. Documents relating to the radio are applicable to colour screen type D.


So I'm thinking if you don't have the Colour screen, you don't have the ECU that does the processing for the RT2...
0 x
Marc

C5NavSys
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 08:33
Location: Romania
My Cars: Citroen C5 Mk1
x 1

Re: Citroen C5 Mk1 Navigation system

Post by C5NavSys » 17 Nov 2016, 22:32

But I have all I need.
The manual for the RD2, RD3, RT2 and the navigation unit that came with my car says that the navigation unit has the color or the monochrome display. All I had to do is to change the RD2 with the RT2 (that I did), and to install the Siemens navigation unit CEM1 (PSA) (that I intend to do). But the GSM phone inbuilt in the RT2 should work with or without the navigation unit. At this moment the radio and the CD player works fine, but not the phone. Even if the navigation unit is missing or is not working you should be able to make phone calls. The only connection between the RT2 and the Siemens navigation unit is an audio line. I think (but I'm not sure) that the navigation unit should work even with the RD2.
0 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest