Navidrive 3D

This unit is the NG4 system, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: DVD, Voice Commands, HighRes Display, 3D Mapping, Bluetooth Hands Free, Independent Phone with MDS Module, SD Card, USB, Jukebox.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 20 Jan 2017, 21:14

GiveMeABreak wrote:Last of the big spenders! :rofl2:
And.. how big was that image.. :-D


I know how you like Large pics! [emoji23]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 8135
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: '09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
Past:
'76 GS 1000 Cedreat Yellow (yuk)
'79 GS 1220 Geranium Red
'78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic Nevada Beige
'84 CX 20 Polar White
'90 XM 2.0 SX Polar White
'93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Polar White
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Emerald Green Pearlescent
'98 C15 Romahome White
'99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX Hermes Red
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red
'05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
x 590

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by GiveMeABreak » 20 Jan 2017, 21:21

Ben - when you do go and give it a try - check if the message comes back up and if so, check if the light is flashing on the SOS button. If it is - then the recommended action from Citroen is to advise the dealer! That is according to a Picasso manual that said the same message (without the not inserted part). I know these cars like simple SIM cards - so it ispossible that it might not like the carrier or the SIM card type. I've go a Vodafone SIM in mine and no worries. You could always try a few to get one that it is happy with.
0x
Marc

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 20 Jan 2017, 21:43

GiveMeABreak wrote:Ben - when you do go and give it a try - check if the message comes back up and if so, check if the light is flashing on the SOS button. If it is - then the recommended action from Citroen is to advise the dealer! That is according to a Picasso manual that said the same message (without the not inserted part). I know these cars like simple SIM cards - so it ispossible that it might not like the carrier or the SIM card type. I've go a Vodafone SIM in mine and no worries. You could always try a few to get one that it is happy with.


Just inserted the sim with the engine off and same message. Will buy a couple of different sims tomorrow [emoji849]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2467
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
Location: Wirral, NW England; Vaucluse 84, France
My Cars: 2015 1.6 Blue HDi 120 Peugeot 308 Active SW
2013 2.0 HDi 163 C5 Exclusive Tourer
2003 2.0 HDi 110 C5 Exclusive Estate (Gone)
2001 2.0 HDi 90 Xsara Estate (Gone)
x 121

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 20 Jan 2017, 21:50

Can't you try a known working SIM from a mobile phone first?
0x
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 20 Jan 2017, 22:02

Paul-R wrote:Can't you try a known working SIM from a mobile phone first?


My network is is three. My Mrs is EE but she's out at the moment... if she's back at a reasonable time then I may see if I can nab her sim!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 20 Jan 2017, 23:37

Success! Tried the wife's EE and ended up calling a very lovely lady in emergency breakdown call centre [emoji23]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 8135
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: '09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
Past:
'76 GS 1000 Cedreat Yellow (yuk)
'79 GS 1220 Geranium Red
'78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic Nevada Beige
'84 CX 20 Polar White
'90 XM 2.0 SX Polar White
'93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Polar White
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Emerald Green Pearlescent
'98 C15 Romahome White
'99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX Hermes Red
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red
'05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
x 590

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by GiveMeABreak » 20 Jan 2017, 23:46

I guess the Mrs will be moving to the 3 network in that case!
0x
Marc

elma
Posts: 3929
Joined: 13 May 2007, 02:17
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars: Undisclosed
x 213

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by elma » 20 Jan 2017, 23:47

Oops, but at least you know it works.
0x

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 20 Jan 2017, 23:56

GiveMeABreak wrote:I guess the Mrs will be moving to the 3 network in that case!


[emoji23]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 20 Jan 2017, 23:57

elma wrote:Oops, but at least you know it works.

[emoji1303]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2467
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
Location: Wirral, NW England; Vaucluse 84, France
My Cars: 2015 1.6 Blue HDi 120 Peugeot 308 Active SW
2013 2.0 HDi 163 C5 Exclusive Tourer
2003 2.0 HDi 110 C5 Exclusive Estate (Gone)
2001 2.0 HDi 90 Xsara Estate (Gone)
x 121

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 20 Jan 2017, 23:59

Does the screen show the signal level of the phone? And is it fairly decent?

At least it's showing that the cable to the aerial unit is OK. I don't know whether the aerial unit has an amplifier for the phone frequencies - I actually rather doubt it - and if there isn't one then it can't help with knowing whether the DC power supply to the aerial is OK. But the chances are that it probably is. Which is a long way of saying that the sat nav problem is probably the lead or the radio itself.
0x
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 21 Jan 2017, 00:01

Paul-R wrote:Does the screen show the signal level of the phone? And is it fairly decent?

At least it's showing that the cable to the aerial unit is OK. I don't know whether the aerial unit has an amplifier for the phone frequencies - I actually rather doubt it - and if there isn't one then it can't help with knowing whether the DC power supply to the aerial is OK. But the chances are that it probably is. Which is a long way of saying that the sat nav problem is probably the lead or the radio itself.


Didn't look at the signal level to be honest, it was too cold! Will check tomorrow when I get a EE SIM



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2467
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
Location: Wirral, NW England; Vaucluse 84, France
My Cars: 2015 1.6 Blue HDi 120 Peugeot 308 Active SW
2013 2.0 HDi 163 C5 Exclusive Tourer
2003 2.0 HDi 110 C5 Exclusive Estate (Gone)
2001 2.0 HDi 90 Xsara Estate (Gone)
x 121

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 21 Jan 2017, 11:42

As EE and 3 use different networks and hence masts, see what the signal is for both.
0x
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 21 Jan 2017, 12:31

Paul-R wrote:As EE and 3 use different networks and hence masts, see what the signal is for both.


Already tried three and it didn't work. tried EE and it works


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
Location: Southampton
My Cars: C5 Exclusive
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 21 Jan 2017, 14:46

Bought a Pay As Yo Go EE SIM today and popped it in and all is working fine. When you call the breakdown people - how does it work exactly? I've got breakdown cover with my bank card so do they do all that or do I have to have some sort of plan with Citroen??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
0x