Navidrive 3D

This unit is the NG4 system, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: DVD, Voice Commands, HighRes Display, 3D Mapping, Bluetooth Hands Free, Independent Phone with MDS Module, SD Card, USB, Jukebox.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10672
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 888

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Jan 2017, 09:12

Ah, but it's not just a Sat Nav though is it....
https://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/ ... nd#p484102

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2739
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 153

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 19 Jan 2017, 10:50

Meh, I can live without that. :)

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 19 Jan 2017, 14:10

Image

Image

Done the update I think - took about 15min

It still says 2009/10 version is that right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 19 Jan 2017, 14:10

More importantly the satellites still read 0


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2739
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 153

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 19 Jan 2017, 14:33

2009/2010 is the edition of the map data not the software.

That costs money to update. I've seen groups of people coming together to form a collective to purchase one copy a new edition of map data and then share it out.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10672
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 888

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Jan 2017, 16:10

Ben - if that's the new screen shot, then no - it has not updated! (top picture). It is still showing the same firmware version as before. As Paul says, the maps are separately purchased (just google Citroen Navigation) and yes that is the early map - the latest is 2016 second edition that has just come out.

Just noticed you've posted the old screenshot - the time is the same as your earlier post!

Ensure the car is running first and on the navigation screen, then insert the USB and wait - if nothing happens then either the files are not on there or the format is wrong. Did you 'unzip' the files onto the USB key? You should just have the following on the USB - one folder and one file, nothing else.
NG4 Firmware.png
NG4 Firmware.png (3.43 KiB) Viewed 423 times

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10672
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 888

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Jan 2017, 16:23

I did say that this probably won't solve the satellite issue - but there is no harm in having the latest system software installed on it. I still think your best bet is an aerial trace to check for damage and a diagnostic, which won't cost you much if anything if using a Forum member for help.

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 19 Jan 2017, 17:04

GiveMeABreak wrote:Ben - if that's the new screen shot, then no - it has not updated! (top picture). It is still showing the same firmware version as before. As Paul says, the maps are separately purchased (just google Citroen Navigation) and yes that is the early map - the latest is 2016 second edition that has just come out.

Just noticed you've posted the old screenshot - the time is the same as your earlier post!

Ensure the car is running first and on the navigation screen, then insert the USB and wait - if nothing happens then either the files are not on there or the format is wrong. Did you 'unzip' the files onto the USB key? You should just have the following on the USB - one folder and one file, nothing else.
NG4 Firmware.png
NG4 Firmware.png (3.43 KiB) Viewed 422 times
Yeah my bad. Here is the updated version.

Image

I've just pulled out the head unit and all the wires are firmly in the back so it's looks at though i need to get the headlining down, which I'm not entirely sure I have the nerve or skill set to do [emoji51]

The car is going in for a full service next Wednesday and they have a SnapOn diagnostics - will this be able to detect any errors in relation to the aerial?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8269
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 485

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 19 Jan 2017, 17:07

I do know that my Lexia clone has detected a problem with the aerial base unit on my Mk1 C5.

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2739
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 153

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 19 Jan 2017, 17:09

That's a well known phantom error message on the Mk1 (and Mk2??). I haven't heard anyone complain about a phantom message on the X7 so I hope it doesn't exist.

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2739
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 153

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 19 Jan 2017, 17:11

Hoggers, looks to me like the SW has updated.

Looks like it's trace the aerial lead time!

User avatar
hoggers
Posts: 120
Joined: 18 Jan 2017, 21:43
x 2

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by hoggers » 19 Jan 2017, 17:16

Paul-R wrote:Hoggers, looks to me like the SW has updated.

Looks like it's trace the aerial lead time!
[emoji85]

Anyone you know that lives in the South that can assist?! In really don't want to be messing about around the airbags etc


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8269
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 485

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 19 Jan 2017, 17:17

Some of the forum members do have Lexia clones, and are willing to help out. Here is the link;

https://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/ ... 19&t=56452

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10672
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 888

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by GiveMeABreak » 19 Jan 2017, 17:43

We covered this a few posts ago James on page 2! :wink: Ben has the list.

Ben - I think you already identified a member in Dorset near to you - send him a private message as back up, as it can take some members a while to respond. I doubt that your snap on guy's tool will be able to do everything that a Lexia can - but you can ask them to trace it back and check it for you.

In the interim - try a unit reset - with system on and engine running, hold down the EJECT button to the left of the DVD slot and the system will reset. Again no guarantee as I believe this is a signal from aerial issue.

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2739
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 153

Re: Navidrive 3D

Post by Paul-R » 19 Jan 2017, 20:17

Hoggers, I don't suppose that you have a SIM card in your Radio or have tried a SIM card out in it? Knowing that it worked, or not, might help.