106 Loss of power

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

lbos

106 Loss of power

Post by lbos »

Hi. I'm new to this so please bear with me.
We have an L reg Peugeot 106 Roland Garros 1.4. It idles pretty roughly and there seems to be a loss of power when applying a lot of revs from 2nd. When coming out of a corner and then accelerating, there can be a total cut out of power, and then, bang its there again. After the kick it will carry on at about 50% power until revs have built when it then recovers normal power.
When setting off the same can occur unless you really feather out the clutch.
The heater matrix was replaced about 2mths ago by a garage and that also appears to have gone again.
I would really appreciate it if someone could give me a few ideas with this.
Thanks.
lbos

Post by lbos »

Heater seems to be OK. Is it possible the other problem could be the ECU? If so which units are considered tepramental?
Thanks again.
lbos

Post by lbos »

To add to the original post, there is an audible "swooshing" of water coming from the driver side footwell when reving the engine.
bikeboyz
My Cars:

Post by bikeboyz »

As you mention ECU I am assuming this is a petrol TU3 engined car. I didn't think they had ECUs at this age, some early 106s even had chokes. I would suggest changing the fuel filter (incase its discintigrating and causing a block), and checking the HT circuit, a hairline crack in the distributor cap assuming its not electronic could be the cause.
Not sure what your swooshing could be!
Peter D
My Cars:

Post by Peter D »