LHM

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

wrinklet1
My Cars:

LHM

Post by wrinklet1 »

Hi all, question, My Xantia td is working fine, BUT,it is loosing LHM fluid and I don't know where too. No puddle on the floor, and no visible leaks around pipes or suspension parts. Looses about 1/2 L a month.I have had lots of experience on Citroen hydraulics but this has got me puzzled. Any ideas?
Regards
Paul.
tomsheppard
My Cars:

Post by tomsheppard »

it could be going into the gaiters on the rack or the rear struts
wrinklet1
My Cars:

Post by wrinklet1 »

had a look and the gaiters look okay, nothing abnormal there
tomsheppard
My Cars:

Post by tomsheppard »

Kleptomaniac Vulcans then.
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

2 types of LHM drinkers :
1) disc brake pads, as they wear the caliper pistons moves out.
2) spheres running flat, as the gas disappears the cavity is replaced by LHM.
Before topping up again :
try set the car in low, then release the system pressure.
If the reservoir now seems overfilled, then you have a couple of weak spheres.
wrinklet1
My Cars:

Post by wrinklet1 »

I may well try dropping the car to the floor and checking the fluid, it may well be the problem, although the ride is good and soft.
wrinklet1
My Cars:

Post by wrinklet1 »

wont the fluid still look the same even if the fluid is replacing the gas in the sphere? wont it stay in the sphere?
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Only if the spheres are completely flat, no remaining pressure exists to press back the LHM to reservoir. Even the slightest (1-2 bar) pressure would press back the LHM.
This can only happen when suspension is set to lowest, as then the HC's are forced open between suspension cylinders/spheres - and the reservoir.
wrinklet1
My Cars:

Post by wrinklet1 »

Ahhhh.