Xantia/ evil garage

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

tonka

Xantia/ evil garage

Post by tonka »

I urgently require assisstance could anyone help.
My 1.9td 2000 plate Xantia
I have just purchased the car and have a few problems. First pump grumbles when more than half a turn of steering wheel, is this normal.
[:(][:(]
I have a whine on gearbox which the garage tells me is normal (at only 45000 miles I think not?)
Also after 40 miles the steering becomes notchy, the brakes feel odd and when I brake hard the car nose dives, the car is still under warrenty with garage but they are trying to say this is normal.
I am new to citroen but this can not be normal can it???????
At present I am considering forking out for an RAC check. Do you think I could beat the manager to death with independant report.[}:)]
Please help me!![V][V]
Kered

Post by Kered »

I had a 95 1.9TD from new and recently changed to a 2000 HDi.
In neither case were there any of the problems that you quote.
If I was in your shoes I would seriously consider an RAC or AA check.
Derek
Dave Burns
My Cars:

Post by Dave Burns »

Depends what you mean by grumble, the power steering section of the pump has a relief valve in it to vent the pressure when the steering is hard at full lock, this causes a loud hissing noise though not a grumble and in any event not untill full lock is reached.
Check the LHM oil level, the float indicator should be at least between the two rings when the suspension is on its highest setting, if the float position is low with suspenson at normal then air could be getting into the pump.
Gearboxes on most of these cars do have a feint oscilating type of whine, but not loud or too intrusive.
The brakes and steering should not feel any different at any time while being driven unless a fault or low oil level exists.