Citroen Ax Dimension 1.5 Diesel Oil Leak

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

JSP_AX
My Cars:

Citroen Ax Dimension 1.5 Diesel Oil Leak

Post by JSP_AX »

From what i can tell it looks like its the crankshaft oil seal does this sound right???
[}:)]I took it to a garage and they said it was the head gasket[}:)]
No such thing as an honest mechanic i suppose
jonathan_dyane

Post by jonathan_dyane »

Be careful! My cousins 1.5D AX had a big oil leak which I rectified last year: This was the headgasket!
A garage had already misdiagnosed it as and replaced the crank oil seal.
Is there any water loss/oil in the water/water in the oil/bad starting?
Jonathan.
JSP_AX
My Cars:

Post by JSP_AX »

the oil filler cap doesn't have any white gunk on it and no oil in the water and it runs very smootly and starts 1st time this is y i didn't believe the mechanic no symtoms of a leaking head gasket
lets hope it is the crank shaft oil seal
thanx jonathan
CITMAN
My Cars:

Post by CITMAN »

unfortuntely this is a common issue on both the tu petrol engine and the tud diesel engines. In fact PSA have told dealers suprisingly that oil leaks from the tud engine are to be expected. I wouldnt worry unless the cambelt is contaminatated with oil or the engine is showing other signs of headgasket trouble such as overheating, loss of water, oil in the coolant, water in the oil, pressurisation.
JSP_AX
My Cars:

Post by JSP_AX »

my m8 whose a mechanic sed not 2 worry as its not leakin that much oil but its just annoying that it does leak all over the drive
thanx 4 all the help jonathan[8D]
rotodiesel

Post by rotodiesel »