Glow plug system Dead ?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

rac

Glow plug system Dead ?

Post by rac »

Hi all .. i am newbie here, Right had this problem today .. citroen zx diesel 1.9 k reg, the glow light in the dash clock not come on .. so no light but the other light like handbrake and other light are working! it won't fire up but it turning over when i turn key! so am i looking at a wire split somewhere or the small heating system box is knackered ? [:)]
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Dependong on age of vehicle -
- the problem could very well be corroded feed wire to the glowplug timer unit, or the the "starter" cable from ignition key to unit simply has failed, thus the timer never starts.
Could be that simple a large spade conncetor near battery has come apart.
It should be quite simple to follow the heavy gauge wire back from glowplugs to timer unit, and then back to battery. No other cable is that heavy gauge, except for the startermotor and alternator (which is much larger gauge cables).
If you're lucky - you find a dangling wire near the timer unit, which would be the +12V starter feed from ignition key.
BTW : there is no fuse in the circuit, as the glowplugs consumes approx 50Amps, and the circuit is very sensitive to any voltage drops from a possible corroded fuse.
tomsheppard
My Cars:

Post by tomsheppard »

Try running a heavy wire from the battery to the glow plugs for 30 seconds. Connect it well and use a crocodile clip at the battery end which you disconnect before trying to start it.
If it starts then you have an emergency bodge and confirmation that the glow plug relay isn't operating.
DLM
My Cars:

Post by DLM »

Operation of most glow plug relay boxes is pretty easy to diagnose by ear - no clicks, no go. HOwever, it doesn't necessarily follow that the relay itself is the culprit, though it's the most likely if Tom's emergency bodge works.
oilyspanner
My Cars: