K and N Air Filters - Any Good?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

rg
My Cars:

K and N Air Filters - Any Good?

Post by rg »

Hello Folks,
I inherited one of these filters fitted to my 2.5 TD '97 XM.
I suspect that my Citroen indie did not change this on the last couple of services, as there are specific instructions on the filter housing, namely:
"Clean every 50K miles by soaking in K and N filter cleaner. Do not soak in petrol. Treat with K and N filter oil"
So are these things actually any better than standard in terms of air flow and effectiveness? Or would it be cheaper to replace with a standard disposable filter, rather than investing in some cleaner and oil? And from where would I buy some of this cleaner and oil?
Comments, observations, and advice most welcome!
Best wishes
rg
sponix
My Cars:

Post by sponix »

I'm not an expert but as I understand it they are *usually* better than a paper filter and in theory it'd be cheaper in the long run to keep it.
However, your car would have been designed to use the standard Citroen filter so the K&N *could* have a detrimental effect on performance, unless other mods have been made.
I'm pretty sure that there are other fitler cleaners/oils out there that are cheaper than the K&N stuff.
Interwired

Post by Interwired »

There are basically two types of K&N Filters :
<b>Replacement Cone Filter</b> (replaces most of stock filter housing with a Large cone shaped Filter)
There has always been a lot of debate over the risk of these filters allowing more dirt particles to pass through them, which could cause Intake blockages or even worse, engine damage overtime.