C5 X7 suspension acting strange

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

entelstz
My Cars: C5 X7 2.0 163

C5 X7 suspension acting strange

Post by entelstz »

Hi forum, and greetings from Bulgaria.
I recently bought a citroen c5 from 2010. I am fairly new to the behaviout of the car but believe there must be something wrong with the suspension. It seems quite stiff and uncomfortable, nothing in comparison to other c5 that i have rode in. The other thing that bothers me is the rear suspension acting strangely. When the car is parked and the engine is off there is this constant raising and lowering of the rear. Almost as if the car cannot find its right level. By the sound of the pump i can say that this happens also when driving. I have checked the height sensor and it is spotless, moving from the slightest touch... Tried to refill some LDS (almost a litre in) following the procedure with lowering the back first. Unfortunately that did not seem to help. For reference, i have checked and it soesnt seem to have any leaks from the auspension. Any ideas?
Simple76
My Cars: Citroen Bx

Re: C5 X7 suspension acting strange

Post by Simple76 »

Have the spheres checked .
EDC5
(Donor 2020)
My Cars: Citroen C5 RHR AM6

Post by EDC5 »

The harshness in the ride may be because the front is riding too high. When I measured the ride height on mine I found it was 5cm too high!

I used Lexia to lower it as much as possible in software but I think I'll need to change the height correctors at fine point.
Sloppysod
Donor 2024
My Cars: Citroens
1 x GS, 1 x GSX (Banger raced), 1 x GSA,
2 x CX Famililles, 1 x CX GTI,
BX, XM, Xantia, C5 Mk1,
C4 (Coupe), C4 (B7),
C5 (X7)

Renault
R4 Van
Fuego
Clio Campas

Post by Sloppysod »

If there are no leaks, why did you have to put in as much as you did, check rack and front suspension struts for dampness.