Aisin AM6 gearbox update

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 03 Jul 2018, 16:23

Hello, everyone,
Does anybody has updated their C5 X7 TCU firmware? If yes, what versions do you get on diagbox/lexia?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Jul 2018, 16:34

This isn't something that is normally done without good reason - and again usually only done by the dealer when needed to fix any issues that they are aware of. :wink:

Applying software updates to ECUs can have undetermined effects on other system ECUs like the BSI and ESP if they are unable to communicate with a newer software version. Not all existing hardware is compatible with newer software and should not be updated unless necessary.

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 03 Jul 2018, 16:53

I have asked local dealer about updates, they checked and said that gearbox update was available and done an update. It was year ago. Few days ago I have checked versions of the gearbox module and result is: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1u-yvvo ... p=drivesdk
I think I was fooled and there is factory software left...

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Jul 2018, 17:06

That just shows it was last downloaded in 2009 - so it may be that there was an update to your BSI and not the AM6 gearbox ECU.

Also those figures and versions can refer to the calibration that was applied to the box which may not actually interfere with the main software - but can often 'tweak' some parameters of the gearbox.

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 03 Jul 2018, 17:15

Dealer said that gearbox control unit was updated (I have an receipt for that), not BSI or engine, in fact, they said that there were no updates to the ECU.
On the Lexia these parameters are the same.
These parameters are located in the same place where you would ask diagnostic tool to check for updates and download, I understand, that depending on those dates and versions it determines if there is newer versions, so why it should not change when downloaded? i dont get it then why they are for. Peugeot dealer said that they should have changed, especially download date.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Jul 2018, 17:25

There may be several reasons:
  1. The ECU has since been replaced so is not the same one that was updated.
  2. They did download an ECU update, but they didn't do it properly (even a BSI update can take 3 or more update attempts before it actually saves). Then the official instructions are to double check manually that it has been saved and then check the parameters are correct!
  3. They didn't actually do anything. :shock:

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 03 Jul 2018, 17:37

1. If I've had it changed, there would be no questions from me :)
2. They mentioned that update proccess keeps aborting (due to bluetooth communication problems), I have waited more than an hour to finish it.
3. Well, it is possible.

I think that 2nd option is the most probable.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Jul 2018, 17:44

Just exploring the logical possibilities and I meant it could of been changed by somebody else - not you (unless you have owned it from when it was 'updated') :-D

Not always a good idea to use Bluetooth for downloading to ECUs! They should know that because if it gets interrupted it can cause the ECU to become unresponsive. Much better to download the update and apply using the wired VCI.

So I think you have your answer - take it back and tell them it has not been done, - you have the invoice. If they try and say you have caused it with your own version of Diagbox, just tell them you had it checked elsewhere and you are coming back here as this is where you paid to have it done (assuming that it is the same garage of course). :wink:

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 03 Jul 2018, 18:08

They keeps refusing this fact and keeps finding reasons why versions are not updated (read with non-original tool, lexia is bad (but diagbox shows the same), versions sometimes can be left the same and so on...)
So I am looking for examples of correct updates here. I have wrote to other dealers about this issue too.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Jul 2018, 19:11

There are a few members here with Auto X7s who have Diagbox, so they may be willing to see what version they have.

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 03 Jul 2018, 19:21

I would be more than very happy and gratefull for that :)
I think that it is not so necessary to check exactly on X7, because C5 II also had AM6, so dates and download counter after update would also be informative. I need exact and guarranteed answer does download date and counter change after an update and thats all. So, please, somebody check their AM6 downloading identification tab in lexia or diagbox :wink:

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 899
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by EDC5 » 03 Jul 2018, 23:40

I will check for you tomorrow evening :)

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 04 Jul 2018, 06:01

Hi :) OK, it will be great. Did you update your TCU?

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 899
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by EDC5 » 04 Jul 2018, 21:29

Very sorry but I'm having trouble finding my laptop charger to go and check on the gearbox software version. I'll have another look and check if I find it.

As far as I'm aware the TCU has never been updated on my car. Are you aware of any advantages of doing so?

justas
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2018, 09:14

Re: Aisin AM6 gearbox update

Post by justas » 05 Jul 2018, 08:40

If you havent updated it, maybe somebody before you has. Lets see what you will get :)