C5 Tourer Electronic Handbrake & Heater issues

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

paul1100
My Cars: Citroen C5 VTR+ HDI AUTO Tourer

C5 Tourer Electronic Handbrake & Heater issues

Post by paul1100 »

Hi
I'm a Newbie here, but have been searching around to try and solve my problems… V helpful site, thanks to the many people on here who's comments have helped me develop my knowledge! …not that i'm mechanically minded enough to tackle all problems! Anyway…

I have a 2009 diesel C5 Tourer VTR+ HDI. 2litre with automatic transmission.
FYI: I'm a dog walker so the car in regular use, doing regular stops and starts and short runs, but it gets a good 150 mile run at least once a month.

Electronic Parking Brake issue:
Over xmas the EPB started to light up the dash like a Xmas tree!:
'P in a triangle'
'auto ((P)) off'
'flashing red P in a circle'
'service' indicator light on.
(Basically the same as page 80, section 4 in the manual)

Followed the instructions in the manual but it didn't resolve it.
Checked my battery charge… over 50% - as i read here BSI's can go a bit loopy with low battery charge and start acting oddly.
Reset the BSI … following the instructions to the letter in this forum (thanks again)
All cleared, but all came back on as soon as i started the car.

The brake definitely has enough clout to work cos it does still and holds the car when applied, but doesn't come on or release every time you push/pull the button. Does eventually so i've not got stuck yet!
I've now disabled the auto application via the 'vehicle parameters>comfort controls' on the dash/steering wheel, but it's still tepramental and the display is still lighting up as above when the EPB is used.

I've read about the cost of a new EPB (gulp!) and about the spacers that can break down on the forum at
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=57771 …not confident to do that myself tho (nor have i anywhere to do it!).

Heater issue