C5 X7 Hydraulics

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

gambler072
My Cars: Citroen C5 X7

C5 X7 Hydraulics

Post by gambler072 »

Hello folks, I have one question concerning a front suspension on my car. The hydroactive suspension is working almost perfectly, raises or lowers cars without any problems, corrects the height when necessary, but sometimes I hear a banging noise from the front suspension. I have noticed that only when I'm going over a speed-bump, but not always, It occurs only sometimes, and it does not matter how fast or slow I go over a speed-bump. Sometimes It feels like that is not making that banging sound when I'm climbing on the speed-bump, but when I'm leaving it, like the cylinders have more pressure that it should be. Does anybody knows anything about it? The car's height is normal. I'm still learning about this suspension, it's my 1st hydro equipped car. The second question is that the hydraulic pump changes the sound when I'm putting the car in the service height (the highest position), it becomes more loud and the noise it produces winding noise. When i lower the car, or put it it normal mode, there are no such sounds, and it has the correct level of LDS.

Thanks in advance
MikeT
My Cars: 2005 C5restyle 1.6HDI 16v 110hp VTR Estate
2008 C5 X7 1.6HDI VTR+ Saloon

Re: C5 X7 Hydraulics

Post by MikeT »

Re that knock going over bumps, always been a failed drop link for me, cheap fix but do get a quality replacement, cheapo's tend to go bad in no time.

Can't help with the noisy pump.
gambler072

Post by gambler072 »

Do you have maybe a catalogue number for the drop link, just to check how it looks and to see can I check it without going to the mechanics. I really hope that's the issue :) As I said, it doesn't happen every time, and I think that it occurs when I'm leaving the bumps.
bobins
Donor 2023
My Cars: Kia Sportage
Mazda BT-50
Land Rover SIII SWB
V-F-R800
SL320
MX5