C5 Intermittent Loud Whine

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Citroen Newbie
My Cars: Citroen C5 Hdi 2.2

C5 Intermittent Loud Whine

Post by Citroen Newbie »

Hello!
We are complete beginners when it comes to Citroens, although my father had many including BX's, Safari's and some I couldn't name but I remember their hydralic suspension system well as it seemed to include 2 big chains and a couple of drilled cannon balls!

Last summer we brought a 2003 C5 Hdi with 150K Miles after our Volvo V40 bit the dust. Seriously impressed and happy bunnies :)

The car had been regularly serviced by an independent but there were no books to prove but stickers and chalk marker with dates on the car.

Recently the car has been off the road with a fault that was difficult to diagnose by our local garage. It wouldn't start so knowing that it had been sitting for several months before we purchased it we changed the battery. It wouldn't start even with the new battery. The Tech in our local garage thought it needed a new key and eventually after having the car for weeks trying this and that had to take the car to Main Dealers for reprogramming and then diagnosed the alternator required replacing!

Fixed and back on the road and loving it we now have a new problem. A very loud, high pitched whine/ scream which is intermittent and does not occur in idle. It doesn't sound like metal on metal.

There is no loss of power. In fact once you get to 55/60 mph in 5th it clears. It doesn't always happen, sometimes it starts and runs fine with no noise until you get to around 30 mph when it starts. Sometimes it only kicks in when you start to slow down and sometimes its louder than others.

Considering the trouble our local garage diagnosing the problems last time we were just wondering has anyone any ideas what this could be??