immobilizer fault

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

john 1952

immobilizer fault

Post by john 1952 »

hi guys, i have bought a xsara (02) for my daughter, i have changed the cassette player with a cd player (clarion) i coded it to the car with my lexia, but when i tried to start car it would not start, and the immobilizer light is flashing on the hazard switch, has anyone had this problem, and can you give me a remedy to cure it, thanks in advance, regards, john.
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Lexia Available: Yes
My Cars: 2015 1.6 Blue HDi 120 Peugeot 308 Active SW
2013 2.0 HDi 163 C5 Exclusive Tourer
2003 2.0 HDi 110 C5 Exclusive Estate (Gone)
2001 2.0 HDi 90 Xsara Estate (Gone)

Re: immobilizer fault

Post by Paul-R »

Did you fit the CD player and then recode at the same time or was a period before you recoded it? If there was a gap did the car start as normal?

What car did the CD player come from? I'm no expert on these things but I believe not all CD players from other Citroens (and Peugeots) are compatible.

Or was it an aftermarket Clarion CD player? In which case I don't think recoding is necessary and something else may have been changed by the Lexia.
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
john 1952

Post by john 1952 »

hi paul, thanks for your reply, it was genuine clarion, from an 04 xsara, and i did code it at time of fitting ! regards, john.
john 1952

Post by john 1952 »