2002 C5 2.2 Hdi AirCon / Heater issue

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Jerdo1
My Cars: 2001 Citroen C5 2.2hdi hatch Red (current)
2005 Renault Clio 1.2 Dynamique Red (gone)
1975 Renault 6 TL(?) Blue Metallic (long gone but wish I still had it!)

2002 C5 2.2 Hdi AirCon / Heater issue

Post by Jerdo1 »

Hi,

I'm a newbie so please be gentle ?!

I recently bought a 2002 C5 diesel auto hatch to pull a motorcycle to France where I am staying for 5 months.
It seemed a bargain and only had 80,000 on the clock along with a changed cambelt etc. I love the car but it has a number of quirks - most of which are manageable on a day to day basis. However when I was in France last year I had a 2005 Renault Clio, which was fine but had no aircon. I decided that this was a must this year and so my SX model came equipped. The aircon and heater appeared to be working fine but it was a little less than cold so - about a week before I set off for France I had the system recharged and noticed a big difference in the coldness.
I set off for France with my daughter and when I switched the aircon on she immediately noticed that, with the heater at its lowest (coldest) setting there was hot air coming through all of the passenger side vents. The drivers vents were all pumping through cold air as they should. No matter what I tried it stayed like this all the way south through France.
Is there an easy fix to either disconnect the passenger side altogether and rely on the cold air being pumped through the drivers vents - or some other way to fix this. I would like some idea of the possibility of a fix before I approach a 'local' Citroen garage / mechanic.
One of the other issues is that ONLY the drivers window opens - but that's will be another Post for another time!

thanks in advance

Jerdo
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
My Cars: Mazda 6
Ooops.
Previously:
2009 Honda Civic :(
C5, C5, Xantia, BX, GS, Visa.
R4, R11TXE, R14, R30TX