Decision time-HELP

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

isisalar
My Cars:

Decision time-HELP

Post by isisalar »

All being well I'm picking up my new car next week, a C6. This means that as much as I would like to keep them both I have to get rid of one of my Xantia HDI exclusive estates. I work as a painter/decorator carpenter and one of the cars has to do as a van/work car.
The silver one I bought at around 140,000 miles and have spared no expense getting it ready to go on to 250,000+ miles, all the front end bushes and stuff, discs and pads all round, all new spheres, heater fan unit, height correctors, etc etc. No major dents on the bodywork but a few bumper scuffs and scratches. A bit of wear on the drivers seat but perfectly servicable, it's now on about 190,000miles.
The blue one I bought to use as a 'best' car and is reputedly the best example left in the country, is in pretty well mint condition with a brilliant service history, previously owned by a respected forum member, 89,000 miles, passed its MOT this week, only needed the hazard light switch sorting out. I've done less than 2000 miles in it in the last year. It's so nice I don't use it much for fear of damaging it or messing up the interior.
The silver one I have no such worries and chuck all sorts of materials and stuff in. It's a thirsty beast compared to the blue one but the performance difference is phenomenal, I suspect it may have been breathed upon at some time in its past, it could be just that it's a lot looser. The blue one is on non hydractive spheres with the brake mod, the silver on hydractive spheres. Whenever I drive either, I'm convinced it's the best set up, until I drive the other one!!