Battery problems.

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

superloopy
My Cars:

Battery problems.

Post by superloopy »

Well ... its nearly winter up here and i'm doing a pre check of whats what on the V6. My battery has always been an issue, it goes flat moreorless every couple of days. The original suspect was the radio but thats been out of the car for a while now and still she wont hold a charge so something else is draining the battery overnight. Where do i start with this, any suggestions? The battery is new ... Bosch S5 780A so i'm guessing thats not the issue. Just need a fault finding strategy [emoji1]
I'm not good at 'strategies'...
Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
Mike

Xantia Activa Dante Red MK1 (96) 121k - SORN, to be broken
Xantia Activa Silex Grey MK2 (98) 120k -SORN, ditto
Xantia V6 Silex Grey MK2 (98) 95k - non-runner
Xantia TD Storm Grey MK1 (95) 95k - non-runner
dnsey

Re: Battery problems.

Post by dnsey »

It's no good trying things at random.
Fit an ammeter between the battery and it's positive lead, and systematically disconnect items until the current draw diminishes.
I'd start with the alternator, in case of a faulty regulator or rectifier, then move onto working through the fusebox.
superloopy
My Cars:

Post by superloopy »

dnsey wrote:It's no good trying things at random.
Fit an ammeter between the battery and it's positive lead, and systematically disconnect items until the current draw diminishes.
I'd start with the alternator, in case of a faulty regulator or rectifier, then move onto working through the fusebox.
That sounds like the beginning of a plan, thanks.

Now how do i do that?

I've got a multimeter .. any good?
Mike

Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »