My turn for a C5!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
demag
Donor 2016
Posts: 1491
Joined: 18 Oct 2004, 05:03

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by demag » 02 May 2017, 21:07

I used an ebay seller called mr-wiper and bought a set of three aero type wipers for the Synergie for £8.05. I wasn't expecting much for 8 quid but they were excellent!

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8264
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 27 Jun 2017, 09:15

I wonder if anybody can help me with an electrical enquiry. I am intending to fit a couple of items (a USB box to connect to the in car audio system, and a power supply for a dash cam), and I would like to use one of the piggy back fuse systems shown elsewhere on the forum. I would like to connect to the fuse used for (amongst other things) the CD auto-changer (I do not have this fitted), as I feel it should be able to safely manage the extra load. What I would like to know is;

What is the amperage load of the CD changer?

Thanks.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9794
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 Jun 2017, 11:08

The Clarion CD635, RDC635 & RDC634 6-CD Changer models have a current consumption of less than 1A.

Re the Dash Cam James, just be aware that some of the vehicle equipment is controlled by the BSI and is able to switch the power on to the accessory / equipment, so you may find that the power is constantly live at the fuse box when using a piggy back fuse, so won't power the dash cam off.

Here's the part from my dash cam installation post:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=56750&hilit=dash+cam
Update Feb 2017:
It turns out that all the Passenger compartment 'Fusebox A' fuses are Battery +, so as I found out to my cost, if you forget to turn the camera off - a serious battery drain will occur over a few days! Having consulted the wiring diagrams, even the 30A Front Accessory socket / Cigar Lighter that is supposed to be 'Accessories +' is also permanently live, but is additionally controlled by the BSI - so the feed at the fuse is permanently on, but there is a third wire on the front accessory socket itself that is directly connected to the BSI. So that was hopeless. Finally I managed to find a 10A fuse that controls the Electrochrome Mirrors, Additional Heater Unit (Diesel) and Auto Gearbox. This is the only ignition controlled + there is on the BSI fuse box in the passenger compartment. Connected this up and bingo - the Camera Unit now fires up on engine start and turns off after about 15 seconds when the car is switched off (and it has drained the small residual charge stored in the camera battery).

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4410
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by MikeT » 27 Jun 2017, 11:57

I've used a piggyback fuse for my dashcam. I think it's the doors power circuit which isn't ideal but it does stay off once the BSI has gone to sleep. Besides, I remove the camera when parked up in case some scrout takes a fancy to it and bricks a window.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9794
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 Jun 2017, 12:30

I guess that's where the laminated double glazed windows come in on the X7 Mike 8-)
But these can be had for under £20 now - are they really that much of a smash 'n' grab temptation?

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4410
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by MikeT » 27 Jun 2017, 13:19

GiveMeABreak wrote:
27 Jun 2017, 12:30
I guess that's where the laminated double glazed windows come in on the X7 Mike 8-)
But these can be had for under £20 now - are they really that much of a smash 'n' grab temptation?


Hurrumph! Mine cost double that!!! :rofl2: It's plenty to interest some of the junkies in a nearby town looking for cash for the next hit.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9794
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by GiveMeABreak » 27 Jun 2017, 14:01

:-D You're absolutely right of course - I forget sometimes how isolated we are here in the country!

elma
Posts: 3929
Joined: 13 May 2007, 02:17

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by elma » 27 Jun 2017, 14:23

Yep, i get shouted at when I'm in london for not locking cars and vans. Different world out there, i leave the keys in the ignition here so i dont lose them.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8264
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 29 Nov 2017, 10:52

Well, today Bluebird had a visit to the MoT station. She came back out with one minor blot on her copybook; the rear disk (off side) is not in great shape. I was expecting this (as it looks like that sodding calliper corrosion is there), so I will, in the New Year (after Christmas and other expenses), take her to a Citroen dealership to get the rear brakes sorted. I know, dealerships are not always great, but they do have a fixed price servicing, and for the rear brakes it currently is £220. Barring that, she is good for another year, so;

YAY!

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9794
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by GiveMeABreak » 29 Nov 2017, 11:02

Yes, not to be sniffed at - £220 for 'Essentials' or £275 for Citroen Original parts.

If it does need a calliper they are £295 inc. VAT for a new one or £280 for an exchange plus fitting, but I suspect they would drop the labour if doing the lot.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8264
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 29 Nov 2017, 11:05

Whichever way I go I will have got some gasket paper, which I will ask them to fit between the calliper and trailing arm.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41572
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by CitroJim » 29 Nov 2017, 11:40

Hell Razor5543 wrote:
29 Nov 2017, 11:05
Whichever way I go I will have got some gasket paper, which I will ask them to fit between the calliper and trailing arm.


For that application James, cardboard from a cereal box is perfect. In fact I've made may a gasket from an old cornflake box before now :)

Just grease it well before fitting and the job will be a good 'un

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8264
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 29 Nov 2017, 11:44

As I am likely getting a Citroen dealership to do the work (I know where my limits are, and I will not try to exceed them where safety is concerned) I will use proper gasket paper, so as not to have an avoidable argument.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8264
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 12 Dec 2017, 22:54

Well, she has decided to bit me in a way that is uncomfortable. (for humans, that is!). Yesterday evening the heating system was working fine, but at around 22:00 the blower did not start when she did. I have checked (with my Lexia), and it shows the blower has gone open circuit. I have three questions (I suspect I already know the answer to the third question);

1, Is there a maxi fuse for the blower (the two that are linked to the air con are OK, and that which uses them as well is still working), and, if there is, what amperage is it?
2, If it is not a failed fuse is it possible to access the blades of the blower fan via the pollen filter area? If it is, I will try turning the blades (without the ignition on) to see if it is just a dirty/poor contact.
3, If I have to replace the blower is this (as I suspect) a dashboard out job?

Thanks.

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2685
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24

Re: My turn for a C5!

Post by Paul-R » 12 Dec 2017, 23:10

It's also entirely possible it's the heater control unit - known colloquially as the resistor pack.

When you switch the ignition on do you momentarily get the fan speed indicator showing and then it disappears? That's a prime indication that the control unit, or at least the connectors to the unit, are at fault. On my old Mk1 C5 when that first happened the control unit was OK it was just one of the high current connectors that had run hot and I had to sort that out. The second time it happened I had to replace the actual unit itself.

BTW, I'm assuming that the VTR has the dual zone climate control rather than the basic aircon.