P Reg (1996) Berlingo Diesel Van Heater Fan Inoperative

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ManicMechanic
New User

P Reg (1996) Berlingo Diesel Van Heater Fan Inoperative

Post by ManicMechanic »

Hi All,
My Screen Name was supposed to have been 'ManicMechanic' as I used to work as a mechanic, though now I'm in vehicle manufacturing; but whatever, I reckon I need a new keyboard! lol

Anyway, my partner is a florist and she uses her (usually!) ultra-reliable P Reg Berlingo van in her business. Apart from the usual service item replacements, we have not really had any problems - until recently, when the heater motor has decided not to work. Had to be winter, eh? Couldn't do it in July! :-)

To cut to the chase, I will list what I've done and maybe someone out there who is more aufeit with Berlingos, will be able to suggest a cure.

1. I have tested the fan motor off car (on a battery) and it runs perfectly - I also have a spare fan motor that does the same.

2. I have fitted a new (genuine Citroen) resistor pack into the air flow passage in the heater box assembly (that WAS fun!)

3. I have checked the voltage into the motor (red lead = 12v) out of the motor (black lead = 12v) and to the 4 coloured wires coming from the resistor in to the switch plug - again, all show 12v.

4. I have checked the operation of the heater switch with an Ohm meter and get a circuit reading for each of the 4 main 'feeds' to the earth contact.

5. I have checked the White wire's continuity to earth with an Ohm meter and all seems okay.

I was never a fan of vehicle electrics, but as far as I can see, with 12volts in, through the motor, through the variable resistor, down to the switch and thence down to earth, it should work. But it bl**dy well doesn't! LOL