Refurbishing spheres

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ggbinks
My Cars:

Refurbishing spheres

Post by ggbinks »

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to posting so please forgive any basic errors.
I have a 1999 Citroen Xantia SX 1.9TD
Using this site for advice, I've managed to fix numerous leaks, replace water pump, tensioners, auxilliary belts, replace lhm fluid and clean filters etc.Thank you all posters =D>
My problem is that the front 2 strut mounted suspension spheres have gone (I think)
The suspension raises and lowers readily using the lever in the centre console.However, there is no up/down movement when doing the bounce test by pressing down on top of the front wings. It's very firm indeed with no bounce/springiness.
When driving on the highway over undulating sweeping surfaces, the car does feel like a magic carpet ride, it's a real thrill just feeling the car swoop and glide. However, on small bumps, the car seems to have no suspension or shock absorbing qualities at all. So I'm guestimating it's the top mounted front suspension spheres.
Anyone got any practical suggestions for trouble shooting/process of elimination in getting to the bottom of the problem?
Also, I live in Malaysia where new suspension spheres cost 75 pounds each....... :rofl2:
Has anyone ever tried reconditioning a sphere themselves? Vain hopes??

Also, while I'm brain-tapping, the rev-counter works when it is cold, but then after driving for about 15 minutes it gradually stops working????? Does the same thing every morning. I'm guessing it's some electrical connection that expands when hot, losing continuity in the electrical circuit. Anyone experienced this before and got any suggestions please?

Thanks for all your help. I think this site is excellent, and I really appreciate the posters. I've learned so much from you all =D>
1999 Xantia 1.9TD SX 170,000KMs
ggbinks
My Cars:

Re: Refurbishing spheres

Post by ggbinks »