2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Online
User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4476
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 148

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 14 Oct 2014, 18:30

The pipework appears to route upwards so it could well be in the engine bay (yet to get postive id of it's location for you). Part number is 1618 09 if that's any help?

Online
User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4476
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 148

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 14 Oct 2014, 18:53

The wiring diagrams show there's a main box (right side of engine if looking from front of car) of electronics it could be housed in. Can you see a pair a tubes coming up from the exhaust area that plug into a box similar to the sensor pic you posted?

Online
User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4476
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 148

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 14 Oct 2014, 18:58

Servicebox was free but there's certain areas paywalled. I think nothing's changed since I used to use it so see if you can sign up?

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:28

Well I will be d@mned I found it!!! lol
and as it seems it is the same design as the 1.6HDi and 2.0HDi

I kept looking behind the fusebox and kept seeing those little barel type ones... (4 in total)
Image
Image
Image



And then I found it ... just in the middle of the bulk head!
Image
Image


Shall remove it tomorrow and investigate.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8281
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 486

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:29

Well done.

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:38

Cheers
Trust me the furstraton was building up ... especially after I repaired 5 PC's today (2 of them laptops lol) ... my eyes have been playing games with me! lol
Now the only thing will be how to check if the sensor is a duff one.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8281
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 486

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:53

I hope that neither of the laptops were Sony Viao POS. I have heard they are difficult to work on.

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 20:00

lol done them in the past... one owner decided to sit on her new Sony Vaio Ultrabook (they have aluminium frames) had to order the parts from the states... no where to source them in UK, ofcourse sony would not sell parts....
It was just a Packard Bell (keyboard replacement) and a HP Pavilion HDD replacement.
The packard bell was a bit of a pain as for the keyboard had to take the whole thing apart... oh well shall not complain ;) joys of the work.

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 8334
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 236

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by RichardW » 14 Oct 2014, 20:20

Hiding in plain sight as they say :)

Its a pretty sensitive sensor, so if you block one of the ports and blow into the other it should give a reading if you have the live data up on Lexia. If it doesn't work one way, then try the other. It's possible of course that since it is reading 0 mbar, one of the pipes is simply holed / disconnected....

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 20:23

RichardW wrote:Hiding in plain sight as they say :)

Its a pretty sensitive sensor, so if you block one of the ports and blow into the other it should give a reading if you have the live data up on Lexia. If it doesn't work one way, then try the other. It's possible of course that since it is reading 0 mbar, one of the pipes is simply holed / disconnected....
Well imagine that Richard ... me going under the car tomorrow and find the one pipe hanging off! lol that would't be good lol.
Even if the filter was holed out ... it should read something I assume!

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 15 Oct 2014, 09:28

OK so been out this morning and under the car, the pipes all seem to be connected OK (the ones on the DPF are metal and bolted on) and the ones on the Dif.Pres.Sensor are rubber with a clip securing them.
So I blew in the pipes and they are not clogged up ... all ok there.
I then investigated the sensor a bit... and cleaned what I could, put everything back in together (I tried to put the pipes the other way around and idled the car and ... surely EML came up with loads of faults, cleared them and put the pipes the correct way.)
So installed everything back... erased any faults they were there and took the car around for a spin.
It kept reading 0.0mb .... until I reached more less over 4000rpm and then read 5.9mb!
So I assume the sensor is a gonner ...., if the DPF was hollow it will show 0 ... no matter what I guess.

Online
User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4476
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 148

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 15 Oct 2014, 14:50

Glad you found the sensor and are homing in on the fault. Sounds like the sensor could be gunked/sticking? Perhaps just a solvent flush might save you replacing it. Worth a try?

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 15 Oct 2014, 19:01

MikeT wrote:Glad you found the sensor and are homing in on the fault. Sounds like the sensor could be gunked/sticking? Perhaps just a solvent flush might save you replacing it. Worth a try?
I did spray it with PCB cleaner and also contact cleaner... but did not make any difference.
I ordered a warranted used one from eBay for £18 ... not much cost to worry about if it fixes that problem.

Once this is fixed... I will be head on fixing the fuel cap magnetic sensor.

haydent
Posts: 56
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 10:55

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by haydent » 17 Jan 2015, 02:31

according to lexia doc, fuel cap sensor wires should be 150k ohm when cap present and 150 ohm when not. mine seems to be stuck in present... (so even though the cap presence error wont cause limp home, if its faulty it will have been preventing the injection of eolys, which will lead to fap/dpf build up that will eventually lead to error...

Johnny107
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Jan 2014, 22:11

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by Johnny107 » 06 Mar 2018, 21:26

Hi, I seem to have the same problem, interesting read on your thread. I was wondering if your issue with the car finally resolved or not. If you could shed me some light on this, I’d be grateful