2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4273
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
Location: Christchurch, Dorset. UK
My Cars: 2005 C5restyle 1.6HDI 16v 110hp VTR Estate
x 120

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 14 Oct 2014, 18:30

The pipework appears to route upwards so it could well be in the engine bay (yet to get postive id of it's location for you). Part number is 1618 09 if that's any help?
0x
98 S2 Xantia Hatch 1.9TD 143K
CX 2400 GTi

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4273
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
Location: Christchurch, Dorset. UK
My Cars: 2005 C5restyle 1.6HDI 16v 110hp VTR Estate
x 120

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 14 Oct 2014, 18:53

The wiring diagrams show there's a main box (right side of engine if looking from front of car) of electronics it could be housed in. Can you see a pair a tubes coming up from the exhaust area that plug into a box similar to the sensor pic you posted?
0x
98 S2 Xantia Hatch 1.9TD 143K
CX 2400 GTi

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4273
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
Location: Christchurch, Dorset. UK
My Cars: 2005 C5restyle 1.6HDI 16v 110hp VTR Estate
x 120

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 14 Oct 2014, 18:58

Servicebox was free but there's certain areas paywalled. I think nothing's changed since I used to use it so see if you can sign up?
0x
98 S2 Xantia Hatch 1.9TD 143K
CX 2400 GTi

kentc5
Posts: 231
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
Location: Birchington, Kent
My Cars:
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:28

Well I will be d@mned I found it!!! lol
and as it seems it is the same design as the 1.6HDi and 2.0HDi

I kept looking behind the fusebox and kept seeing those little barel type ones... (4 in total)
Image
Image
Image



And then I found it ... just in the middle of the bulk head!
Image
Image


Shall remove it tomorrow and investigate.
0x
Current Cars:
Citroen Xantia 3.0 V6 Exclusive ('98)
Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS ('03)
Audi A6 C6 2.4 V6 SE ('05)
BMW 735i Individual M-Pack ('00)
Lexus GS300SE Navigator ('98)
Toyota Prius T-Spirit ('04)

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8057
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
Location: Reading
My Cars: C5 Mk1 VTR estate, Icelandic Grey (I think she is called "Bluebird")
x 437

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:29

Well done.
0x
James
ex BX 1.9
ex Xantia 2.0HDi SX
ex Xantia 2.0HDi LX

C5 VTR HDi estate, 76518762
Out amongst the stars, looking for a world of my own!

kentc5
Posts: 231
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
Location: Birchington, Kent
My Cars:
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:38

Cheers
Trust me the furstraton was building up ... especially after I repaired 5 PC's today (2 of them laptops lol) ... my eyes have been playing games with me! lol
Now the only thing will be how to check if the sensor is a duff one.
0x
Current Cars:
Citroen Xantia 3.0 V6 Exclusive ('98)
Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS ('03)
Audi A6 C6 2.4 V6 SE ('05)
BMW 735i Individual M-Pack ('00)
Lexus GS300SE Navigator ('98)
Toyota Prius T-Spirit ('04)

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 8057
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
Location: Reading
My Cars: C5 Mk1 VTR estate, Icelandic Grey (I think she is called "Bluebird")
x 437

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 14 Oct 2014, 19:53

I hope that neither of the laptops were Sony Viao POS. I have heard they are difficult to work on.
0x
James
ex BX 1.9
ex Xantia 2.0HDi SX
ex Xantia 2.0HDi LX

C5 VTR HDi estate, 76518762
Out amongst the stars, looking for a world of my own!

kentc5
Posts: 231
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
Location: Birchington, Kent
My Cars:
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 20:00

lol done them in the past... one owner decided to sit on her new Sony Vaio Ultrabook (they have aluminium frames) had to order the parts from the states... no where to source them in UK, ofcourse sony would not sell parts....
It was just a Packard Bell (keyboard replacement) and a HP Pavilion HDD replacement.
The packard bell was a bit of a pain as for the keyboard had to take the whole thing apart... oh well shall not complain ;) joys of the work.
0x
Current Cars:
Citroen Xantia 3.0 V6 Exclusive ('98)
Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS ('03)
Audi A6 C6 2.4 V6 SE ('05)
BMW 735i Individual M-Pack ('00)
Lexus GS300SE Navigator ('98)
Toyota Prius T-Spirit ('04)

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 8228
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars: C4 Grand Picassos:
MK1 '08 1.6 HDi 110
MK2 '17 1.6 BlueHDi 120
x 208

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by RichardW » 14 Oct 2014, 20:20

Hiding in plain sight as they say :)

Its a pretty sensitive sensor, so if you block one of the ports and blow into the other it should give a reading if you have the live data up on Lexia. If it doesn't work one way, then try the other. It's possible of course that since it is reading 0 mbar, one of the pipes is simply holed / disconnected....
0x
Richard W
His and Hers C4 Grand Picassos!

kentc5
Posts: 231
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
Location: Birchington, Kent
My Cars:
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 14 Oct 2014, 20:23

RichardW wrote:Hiding in plain sight as they say :)

Its a pretty sensitive sensor, so if you block one of the ports and blow into the other it should give a reading if you have the live data up on Lexia. If it doesn't work one way, then try the other. It's possible of course that since it is reading 0 mbar, one of the pipes is simply holed / disconnected....


Well imagine that Richard ... me going under the car tomorrow and find the one pipe hanging off! lol that would't be good lol.
Even if the filter was holed out ... it should read something I assume!
0x
Current Cars:
Citroen Xantia 3.0 V6 Exclusive ('98)
Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS ('03)
Audi A6 C6 2.4 V6 SE ('05)
BMW 735i Individual M-Pack ('00)
Lexus GS300SE Navigator ('98)
Toyota Prius T-Spirit ('04)

kentc5
Posts: 231
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
Location: Birchington, Kent
My Cars:
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 15 Oct 2014, 09:28

OK so been out this morning and under the car, the pipes all seem to be connected OK (the ones on the DPF are metal and bolted on) and the ones on the Dif.Pres.Sensor are rubber with a clip securing them.
So I blew in the pipes and they are not clogged up ... all ok there.
I then investigated the sensor a bit... and cleaned what I could, put everything back in together (I tried to put the pipes the other way around and idled the car and ... surely EML came up with loads of faults, cleared them and put the pipes the correct way.)
So installed everything back... erased any faults they were there and took the car around for a spin.
It kept reading 0.0mb .... until I reached more less over 4000rpm and then read 5.9mb!
So I assume the sensor is a gonner ...., if the DPF was hollow it will show 0 ... no matter what I guess.
0x
Current Cars:
Citroen Xantia 3.0 V6 Exclusive ('98)
Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS ('03)
Audi A6 C6 2.4 V6 SE ('05)
BMW 735i Individual M-Pack ('00)
Lexus GS300SE Navigator ('98)
Toyota Prius T-Spirit ('04)

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4273
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
Location: Christchurch, Dorset. UK
My Cars: 2005 C5restyle 1.6HDI 16v 110hp VTR Estate
x 120

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by MikeT » 15 Oct 2014, 14:50

Glad you found the sensor and are homing in on the fault. Sounds like the sensor could be gunked/sticking? Perhaps just a solvent flush might save you replacing it. Worth a try?
0x
98 S2 Xantia Hatch 1.9TD 143K
CX 2400 GTi

kentc5
Posts: 231
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
Location: Birchington, Kent
My Cars:
x 1

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by kentc5 » 15 Oct 2014, 19:01

MikeT wrote:Glad you found the sensor and are homing in on the fault. Sounds like the sensor could be gunked/sticking? Perhaps just a solvent flush might save you replacing it. Worth a try?


I did spray it with PCB cleaner and also contact cleaner... but did not make any difference.
I ordered a warranted used one from eBay for £18 ... not much cost to worry about if it fixes that problem.

Once this is fixed... I will be head on fixing the fuel cap magnetic sensor.
0x
Current Cars:
Citroen Xantia 3.0 V6 Exclusive ('98)
Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS ('03)
Audi A6 C6 2.4 V6 SE ('05)
BMW 735i Individual M-Pack ('00)
Lexus GS300SE Navigator ('98)
Toyota Prius T-Spirit ('04)

haydent
Posts: 56
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 10:55
Location: NSW, AU
My Cars: Citroen C5 II HDI

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by haydent » 17 Jan 2015, 02:31

according to lexia doc, fuel cap sensor wires should be 150k ohm when cap present and 150 ohm when not. mine seems to be stuck in present... (so even though the cap presence error wont cause limp home, if its faulty it will have been preventing the injection of eolys, which will lead to fap/dpf build up that will eventually lead to error...
0x

Johnny107
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Jan 2014, 22:11
Location: Northern Ireland
My Cars: 2002 C5 2.2Hdi
Volvo V50

Re: 2.2HDi Fuel Cap Sensor How to?

Post by Johnny107 » 06 Mar 2018, 21:26

Hi, I seem to have the same problem, interesting read on your thread. I was wondering if your issue with the car finally resolved or not. If you could shed me some light on this, I’d be grateful
0x