2.5td XM, fuel leak! Bosch pump!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

lankytim
My Cars:

2.5td XM, fuel leak! Bosch pump!

Post by lankytim »

Hi all,

I've been running my 2.5 very happily on veg oil for the past few months but yesterday I noticed it was leaving a small patch of fuel under the drivers side front of the car. I can't see any obvious leaks but I think it may be coming from the input shaft of the high pressure fuel pump. It still starts and drives great so i'm hoping I wont have to change it, although I do have 3 spares just in case!

As far as I know the pump has done 191k so i'm guessing was getting quite tired anyway, looks like the veg oil is starting to finish it off.

Questions.... Is it easy to swap the input seal without removing the pump?, are pumps easy to rebuild? Where can I buy parts? Is there a "veg friendly" seal to be had?

I'm still pretty new to diesels, especially the older sort so I don't know how to do the injector pump timing and stuff like that.

Any advice?
lexi
(Donor 2020)
My Cars:

Re: 2.5td XM, fuel leak! Bosch pump!

Post by lexi »

You should be able to buy Viton seals for the pump. Even a standard seal will last 20k with veg oil before leaking.
Get on a Veg forum...........not the allotment type :lol:
Citroen C5 1.6 HDI 110bhp Estate 06 plate

French Mistresses gone.
Citroen C5 HDI Mk 1 hatchback
Vel Satis 3.5 v6
ZX 1.9D Est.
ZX 1.9DHatch
Xantia 1.9td est.
Xantia 2.0 hdi Est.
Xantia V6 MK1
Xantia V6 MK 2
lankytim
My Cars:

Post by lankytim »

Looking more closely I think it might not be the pump leaking after all! I recently did an oil and filter change but managed to spill some down the O/S inner wing and chassis leg. I think it may be the fresh oil running out of the chassis leg and onto the ground. It's a clear gold liquid but doesn't seem to taste of veg oil! (and before anybody says, no its not dog wee)
demag
(Donor 2016)