Citroen Xantia HDi brake pad/caliper rattle

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

graham1701d

Citroen Xantia HDi brake pad/caliper rattle

Post by graham1701d »

Hi everyone,
This is my first post on here. Just to warn you all I am not very good at explaining myself in writing so bear with me. I have a Citroen Xantia HDi 110bhp. If I try and drive normally in fourth at 30mph (under 1500rpm) I get quite a nasty rumble, vibration, rattle, noise on the NSF. I have done a bit of research on this and I am fairly confident it is because of rattling brake pads which seems to be not unknown. From what I have read Citroen released a technical bulletin about this issue and made available a repair kit. Part number: 444971. It is some sort of anti rattle shim kit. I have been to Citroen this morning and told me this is no longer available. So my question is this. Short of buying a new caliper is there anything I can try? New brake pads perhaps? Genuine ones maybe? Do some brake pad manufacturers supply this kit with the pads or a replacement? This problem is driving me mad as I have to keep the engine speed above 1500rpm otherwise I get this noise. I will be grateful of any advice you Xantia owners/mechanics can suggest. Thanks.

Regards Graham
citroenxm
My Cars: M reg Xm S2 2.1td Auto Exclusive. 269k and rising
L reg XM S1 V6 12v Manual SEi
L 94 XM 2.1 TD auto total resto

2008 Peugeot 207 Sw 1.6 16v hdi. 217k and rising
2010 Peugeot 207 SW 1.6 8v HDi 161k and rising

Re: Citroen Xantia HDi brake pad/caliper rattle

Post by citroenxm »

HDi 110 Xantia use the Larger Bosch Brakes, and the pads have a "Curly" anti rattle spring built into the Pad backing...

However, they can come astray, but the spring is located at the TOP side of each pad on each side of the disk. It can come away, but useually during fitting, is a ham fister has fitted the pads.