Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Our most popular forum is for Citroën problems, discussions and chat.
Specialising in AX, BX, ZX, Xantia,C5, Xsara, Saxo and XM. CX, 2cv & Berlingo, all are welcome.NOT for selling cars/parts!

Moderator: RichardW

alDispatch
Posts: 20
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 13:58
Location: East London
My Cars: Citroen C1 (2007)

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by alDispatch » 30 Dec 2017, 01:36

Thanks for the quick response!

1)Lexia wasn't an option, i double checked now without a car nearby and selected Jumpy/Dispatch which although asks 'please connect VCI' (when it was already) if I just ignore and click to the next page it has diagbox or lexia buttons.. whereas C1 doesn't have both, it only asks for the VIN and goes straight to diagbox.
2)When plugging in and out the VCI the Actia USB device and USB com board evolution drivers show up in device manager of the virtual machine, so it makes me think the usb pass through is working?
3) I probably already had the ignition on, will try without tomorow
4)Not sure if the VCI is full chip, I remember having issues initially to get it to talk to my old van and the seller vehiclediagnosticsuk talking through checking/flashing it.
5)I wonder if there's a Toyota version of a diagbox/Lexia type system?

Yeah, it was bad enough with the old 32bit OS Laptop, but this is a whole new level of frustration.. :twisted:
0x

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7076
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: '09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
Past:
'76 GS 1000 Cedreat Yellow (yuk)
'79 GS 1220 Geranium Red
'78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic Nevada Beige
'84 CX 20 Polar White
'90 XM 2.0 SX Polar White
'93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Polar White
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Emerald Green Pearlescent
'98 C15 Romahome White
'99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX Hermes Red
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red
'05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
x 488

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Dec 2017, 12:18

I've done a bit more digging and there shouldn't be an issue with Diagbox communicating with the C1, so that rules that out.

You could always try and connect the VCI with the engine running in case it's a battery problem - to rule that out.

Ensure all the firewall ports on the Host and guest Operating System are set to allow communication through the VCI - they may be open on the guest OS during install, but the Host OS may be blocking communications.

These are just a few more options to check.
0x
Marc

alDispatch
Posts: 20
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 13:58
Location: East London
My Cars: Citroen C1 (2007)

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by alDispatch » 30 Dec 2017, 15:40

Still no luck.

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling usb drivers, trying ignition/engine on and off, firewalls off, Guest shows USB PSA device attached and Actia drivers running when plugged in, but it always asks for VIN and never communicates, i think it is full chip (A.1281 Z) was about £100 in Feb 2016.. Waiting to see if the seller has any advice, although VM not supported. I'm Running .Net 4.0 maybe my Virtual XP is missing something?
0x

alDispatch
Posts: 20
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 13:58
Location: East London
My Cars: Citroen C1 (2007)

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by alDispatch » 04 Jan 2018, 18:14

I have managed to rule out, or maybe narrow down my issues...

I tested my Virtual Machine(VM) Diagbox 7.02 / VCI 4.3.0 on a friends Peugeot 407, and it works!? (I'm excited to get my first ever 32bit VM running on 64bit Win 10, but annoyed I've faffed with many installs when it worked all along, just not on my car :()

I had also bought a £4.25 ELM27 OBD2 reader and that does actually work on my C1's port. I can read most of the live data and faults in the Torque App, but after about 6 fresh installs of XP and Diagbox in various ways, it turns out that was never the problem (I guess) as it does work on the 2012 407 just not my 2007 C1, and I know the VCI also used to work on my 2009 Dispatch.

Could it be I have a non full chip reader, or can my port be malfunctioning on certain pins? There is 12v on pins 4/5 to 16 are there any fuses I should check or specific pins for data transfer?? Another thought, could Diagbox 7.02-7.04 be broken for the C1? Now I know my VCI works I'll update to maybe 7.62<< that's best before telecoding was removed more and more I think?

*EDIT -- UPDATE: Installed 7.57 and still no communication between C1 and VCI

I don't think my VCI is full Chip, it seems to be missing a 10k resistor as some do? :
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg


I soldered on a 10k resistor as recommended on another forum, but it still doesn't work, really frustrating after all this time wasted, think i'll have to find a real full chip board somewhere else.
10k resistor soldered on.jpg
Don't buy Lexia Diagbox VCI from VehicleDiagnosticsUK on Ebay as it's not a real full chip, and he doesn't answer emails.

Al
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by alDispatch on 10 Jan 2018, 16:15, edited 2 times in total.
0x

User avatar
deuchebleu
Posts: 36
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 21:41
Location: Staffs
My Cars: xxxxxxxxxx

Lexia 3 V45 CD anyone?

Post by deuchebleu » 07 Jan 2018, 21:30

Anyone got a copy of the Lexia 3 V45 installation CD to lend, copy or sell to me? Or even a link to somewhere reliable to download it from.
I had this running with a W2000 laptop quite a few years ago and it was very useful solving EGR and Aircon issues. I've not needed to use it since but over Christmas I put XP running in VirtualBox on my current laptop with the intention of installing it there. However, despite a thorough search the CD/DVD could not be found. I can't imagine throwing it out but we have moved house twice since then. A slightly later version might be OK but I know that this version works OK with my hardware and my car.
John
0x

alDispatch
Posts: 20
Joined: 04 Mar 2016, 13:58
Location: East London
My Cars: Citroen C1 (2007)

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by alDispatch » 09 Jan 2018, 17:32

I have V45 I'll send you a PM when it uploads to my online drive.
0x