Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

atr
Posts: 221
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 05:02
x 1

Problem with my Lexia

Post by atr » 11 Nov 2017, 08:40

Hi
I've hooked up my lexia (Chinese, of course) because I've wanted to turn on the DRL.
I dont know if I'm doing something wrong or if it's faulty. while entering the Diagbox, I have to select the model and then to enter the VIN. so far so good. then I'm asked to enter the PFO (what is it?) and I did. now I was asked to choose between the lexia or the scantool. I chose lexia. I will not burden you with the whole process but when I found the lightning and tried to enter it I've got "no dialogue with ecu during initialisation. validate for a new test or press return key" message. I think it's a little bit odd since it accepted the vin - so I guess that there is some sort of communication between the lexia and the ecu. any suggestions?
Is there a "user manual" that I can find to use it correctly? I'm not sure but I think that I've seen some sort of a guide posted on the site but now I wasn't able to find it.
Thanx for your patience.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10698
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 890

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by GiveMeABreak » 11 Nov 2017, 12:48

Avi - the RPO is the build date of the car (yours is 10810). The system should autodetect your VIN when it asks you to select the Marque / Car model... If not then are you sure you got a CAN compliant Lexia that is full-chip to work with the C5? If not you may have issues down the line with it not recognising ECUs etc.

Regarding the Lights:-
This is normally factory set but can be done - this function illuminates the main dipped beam headlamps on permanently when the lighting stalk is in the '0' position. You will also loose any extended light function (like timed delay of lights going off on exit), and you will loose auto light settings if enabled. Just for you to be aware. This feature does not allow the sidelights independently - it activates main lights and sidelights together.

The option will likely be in the BSI (but beware - changing anything here can cause the car to malfunction - so I suggest you write everything down before you change anything and don't experiment!). Always record previous values as there is no backup mode for restoring any settings you change.

The setting is Daytime Lamps - Yes / No. That should be the only setting to change.

There is no manual I'm afraid - these systems are not intended for the home user - they are clones of the dealer systems and in their case are linked to their own servers for up to date info and firmware / software updates for the individual ECUs as needed.

I can't emphasise enough to be very careful what you do here. If the system gets deactivated (which can and will happen at some point) you won't be able to undertake any operations unless you restore your licence file, so ensure you have a backup.

atr
Posts: 221
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 05:02
x 1

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by atr » 11 Nov 2017, 14:09

Hi Marc and thanx for the detailed info. what I find odd is the fact that when I received the lexia (about a year ago) I hooked it up and was able to read the results of some diagnostic checks (as far as I can remember - I had to put in the vin and the rpo manually) but today the result was that I got that message. anyhow since it doesn't work, there is no way to alter the lights mode (which if I read correctly between the lines - you are not suggesting)so, I'll leave it that way. my only concern is that it is mandatory to drive with the lights on during daytime in the winter and I often forgetting to turn them on and the police is "trigger happy" to write a ticket.
btw - is there a way to determine if the lexia "adaptor" is compatible/in working order?
Avi

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10698
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 890

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by GiveMeABreak » 11 Nov 2017, 14:21

If you can hook it up, turn the ignition on and enter the VIN and RPO manually if it is not detecting. Then run a 'global test'. This will interrogate all the ECUs in the vehicle and provide a list when finished of all the detected ECUs at the top. Any with numbers against them will show a fault. Don't panic - not all may be faults - some are considered 'ghost' faults triggered by interrogating the ESP system for example during the diagnostic.

The top ECU should be the BSI. This is where you need to be careful. Click on this and confirm, by pressing the cog wheel bottom right of the screen. Once in you should see an option for customer option or configuration - manual configuration - here you can scroll down until you see an option for Daytime Lights - if you are not sure - send a few screenshots as the menus and options will be different for the BSI type and vehicle and for the Diagbox version you are using.

A sign that the VCI is not working or compatible is when you get no communication with a lot of the ECUs

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 7618
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 161

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by Mandrake » 11 Nov 2017, 14:32

On any car where Lexia is launched (instead of diagnosing completely within Diagbox) just before you click to start Lexia you should unplug the USB plug of the interface from your laptop, wait 5 seconds, then plug it back in (make sure into the same USB port) and wait a further 5 seconds before clicking Lexia.

I always have to do this with my Xantia. If I don't it fails to communicate with the car.

Also if it asks you to manually enter the VIN number (as it does on some older cars) and accepts the VIN number, that does not mean it successfully communicated with the car, only that the VIN number is valid for the model of car. The Lexia/Diagbox software actually has an extensive database of VIN numbers and RPO built into the software and this is how it knows what ECU's to look for on a given car - for example the same model of car with different engines and therefore different engine ECU's.

Finally I presume you have installed Diagbox on a 32 bit operating system ? Diagbox will work on a 64 bit operating system but Lexia will not.

atr
Posts: 221
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 05:02
x 1

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by atr » 11 Nov 2017, 15:06

Thanx for the advises. I'll try to carry out the instructions and see (and inform) what the outcome will be. I hope for the best.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10698
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 890

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by GiveMeABreak » 11 Nov 2017, 16:13

Are you using Diagbox itself or launching Lexia from within Diagbox Avi? - I've assumed Diagbox.

atr
Posts: 221
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 05:02
x 1

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by atr » 11 Nov 2017, 16:30

I've used the Diagbox.

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by Sloppysod » 13 Nov 2017, 21:49

What is this for?
Is it to test the battery?
How do i?

Cheers
Stu
Attachments
Lead with Crocodiles.png
Lead with Crocodiles.png (112.18 KiB) Viewed 264 times

furriegurrie
Posts: 93
Joined: 07 Dec 2012, 16:21
x 6

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by furriegurrie » 13 Nov 2017, 22:16

That a connector for older Citroëns like serie 1 XM. They do not have a central odb socket bit a connector per ecu. The clamps are for power, connected to the battery

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10698
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 890

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by GiveMeABreak » 13 Nov 2017, 23:53

Sloppysod wrote:
13 Nov 2017, 21:49
What is this for?
Is it to test the battery?
How do i?

Cheers
Stu

Image
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=46686&hilit=it%27s+ ... 35#p555617

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Merged Lexia & Diagbox threads

Post by Sloppysod » 14 Nov 2017, 20:23

:? Thanks - marc, looks like I was not the only one who thought the same - :?

johnhuson
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Sep 2017, 20:19
x 1

Chinese Lexia Diagbox on C5 diesel 2002?

Post by johnhuson » 20 Nov 2017, 18:17

I have bought a cheap Lexia 3 which has taken many hours to figure out how to load the software. Finally got it working
and it confirmed it was ready for use.
It was attached to the car socket in the glove box but the message came up 'Please connect a VCI'
The car was not seeing the Diagbox or vice versa? Tried 2 laptops and 2 software DVD's. The garage did a reading
a couple of months ago and it worked in a limited way so the car socket must be oK. OBD2 readers are not compliant and
do not talk to the car.
I am aware that petrol C5's are diagnostic compliant from 2001 but diesels were not until 2004. but these Lexia
readers say this is not a problem for pre 2004 models.
Do I have a duff car socket, or a duff Lexia kit?
My problem is ABS/ESP?ASR warning lights on.

Do you have a C5 diesel working with Lexia.

Thanks, John.

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4474
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 148

Re: Chinese Lexia Diagbox on C5 diesel 2002?

Post by MikeT » 20 Nov 2017, 19:03

USB driver is a common cause of this error, John. Just disconnect from PC and plug back in usually sorts it.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 58

Re: Chinese Lexia Diagbox on C5 diesel 2002?

Post by wurlycorner » 20 Nov 2017, 19:24

I have a 51 plate diesel C5 and it communicates with my Lexia just fine. So it's not a C5/Lexia compliance problem in general, it will be specific to either your particular hardware or lexia software.