Citroen ZX windscreen washer help

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

angle

Citroen ZX windscreen washer help

Post by angle »

Hi,

I'm new to Citroens, having bought a '92 ZX 1.6 Aura as a temporary car last year. I liked it too much to sell it when I left the country for a while, so its been standing since last August - I was really impressed when I gave it a wash and put it in for an MOT to see how much it had deteriorated and it only failed on the windscreen washer not working.

The thing is - the problem isn't immediately obvious, so any help before I start replacing parts at random would be really appreciated. Neither the front or rear washers are working, although when you pull / twist the column stalk the front / rear wipers come on as normal, which makes me think its not the stalk, but there's no noise from the washer pump. The fuse (assuming its F2, the handbook says this is for front and rear wipers and 'high pressure pump') is intact, and I've blown through the piping from the non-return valve under the bonnet to the windscreen jets. The obvious thing would therefore seem to be the pump, although I haven't got back from work at a sensible enough time to start messing about under the car yet. The thing is, having contacted the very helpful Adrian at French Auto Parts, apparently mine is an early model with separate front and rear pumps. Are they really both going to have failed, or is there something I've missed?
citronut
My Cars:

Re: Citroen ZX windscreen washer help

Post by citronut »

hi and welcome

these pumps can fail through lack of use,

i would not say a 92 model is an early car

i just looked on service citroen and it shows three different part No.'s over the ZX range, and going by the drawings they all mount in the washer tank at the front of the car,

i think it is more likely you have one pump for both as both ends dont work,