Yet another key replacement question

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

MonkeyMark

Yet another key replacement question

Post by MonkeyMark »

Sorry for all the questions guys, I'm still new to all this Citroën stuff.

Anyway. My car came with one normal key and one remote fob key, which is falling apart.

After Reading other threads about second hand keys I wonder if a second hand fob can be programmed (transponder and rf remote) to a C8? Then just get a new blade cut.

If not, is there anything in particular I need to know when looking for a new one i.e. Different models having different transponders or anything like that? I'd like a key that's not falling to bits but don't fancy paying main stealer prices!

Thanks for all the help so far guys, greatly appreciated.
Happy(ish) C8 owner.
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2023
My Cars: C5 Mk2 VTX+ estate.

Re: Yet another key replacement question

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

When you say the remote is falling apart, how do you mean? It is possible to buy a casing for it that won't break the bank;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Peugeot-1007- ... 2a1e2fe00a" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
James
ex BX 1.9
ex Xantia 2.0HDi SX
ex Xantia 2.0HDi LX
Ex C5 2.0HDi VTR
Ex C5 2.0HDi VTR

C5 2.2HDi VTX+
Yes, I am paranoid, but am I paranoid ENOUGH?
Out amongst the stars, looking for a world of my own!
MonkeyMark

Post by MonkeyMark »

Well it's one of the funny oval snapped ones and I don't see many of them and I doubt the pcb inside would fit into a rectangular fob. I'd also like to have a second one just in case.

Plus you gotta admit the newer fobs, like the one you linked to, look much nicer!

EDIT:
mine is a 2 button remote. Would a 3 or 4 button one work? Could the extra buttons be programmed to do anything like turn lights on or something? Not bothered about that though.
Happy(ish) C8 owner.
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2023

Post by Hell Razor5543 »