05 C5 Petrol Antipollution fault

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

IMARLOW

05 C5 Petrol Antipollution fault

Post by IMARLOW »

New to be board, so apologies if thsi has been covered before.
I have ahd a quick look around but cant find anything specific.
My 05 C5 petrol has developed the dreaded antipollution fault.
It came on about a week ago and went into limp mode, topped up the oil left it overnight and all was well.
This week it has reappeared with very poor idle and goes straingt into limp mode.
Ive heard all sorts of horror stories about garages charging an arm and a leg of diagnostics and dubious and sometimes expensive reapirs that dotn actualy seem to clear the fault.
Has anyone any straight forward tips on how to deal with this, i'm no mechanic by any means so dotn want to be spendign an arm and a leg to get nowehere as money is tight enough as it is.
I have purchased a fuel filter as this seems to be one of the choice and simple things to check.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Quackers
My Cars: 2010 Citroen C5 3.0 V6 Exclusive + Navi
2009 Citroen C6 2.7 V6 Exclusive + Lounge Pack
2007 Citroen C5 2.2 (173) Exclusive + Navi
2000 Citroen Xantia Activa

Re: 05 C5 Petrol Antipollution fault

Post by Quackers »

Do you have any decent independent Citroen garages near you? Thats the best place so they can hook up a Lexia and tell you whats at fault. Normally less than £40 to tell you whats erroring. The Anti Pollution fault seems to be very generic and needs the lexia to see what it actually means.
Ben82
My Cars: C5 V6 2004

Post by Ben82 »

Quackers wrote:Do you have any decent independent Citroen garages near you? Thats the best place so they can hook up a Lexia and tell you whats at fault. Normally less than £40 to tell you whats erroring. The Anti Pollution fault seems to be very generic and needs the lexia to see what it actually means.