Thinking Of second Car

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Timmy69
My Cars:

Thinking Of second Car

Post by Timmy69 »

Hi guys

I am thinking of getting a second car,and not being a major fan of modern cars and being quite fond of Citroens :).I was seriously looking at getting a XM..Can you give me a few opinions and help me out a bit with this decision.Things like the right price to pay for one,common faults,and expense for the common faults ofc..Diesel or petrol etc.Just vent your spleens guys because i have seen one i have fallen in love with.
Thanks as always
Timmy
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Re: Thinking Of second Car

Post by Peter.N. »

I have been running XMs for about 15 years and they are a brilliant car but likely to be expensive to maintain unless you can DIY. My car of choice has been the 2.1 manual diesel estate, they have more room than just about any estate on the road and give a superb ride, driven gently they will exceed 50 mpg, there are very few about now though, once you have them sorted they can be very reliable. If you do a lot of miles avoid the auto, gearbox failure can write the car off.

Alternatively, there are a lot of very cheap C5s about now, I have two, one cost me £300.00 and the other £550, the cheapest one is best but its a 2.2 Hdi which is not very economical, the 2.0 Hdi I subsequently bought needed a lot of work but it will do 60 mpg :)

The other alternative is a Peugeot 406, same running gear in the Hdi version and a very reliable car, also cheap but not as cheap as the C5.

Peter
citroenxm
My Cars: M reg Xm S2 2.1td Auto Exclusive. 269k and rising
L reg XM S1 V6 12v Manual SEi
L 94 XM 2.1 TD auto total resto

2008 Peugeot 207 Sw 1.6 16v hdi. 217k and rising