Eolys?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 03 Apr 2018, 05:37

I checked that connector is green so 176 is the right fluid?

cachaciero
Posts: 1405
Joined: 13 Apr 2009, 07:24

Re: Eolys?

Post by cachaciero » 03 Apr 2018, 08:00

Marc I was offering that " nugget " of info more for urzica who has a 2ltr.which I assumed by the date is a mk2. In fact the advice is superfluous for a 2ltr as these were all 176 straight from the factory. The only model where confusion can and does reign is the 2.2 2001-2006 which could have either and my comment would apply to this model. DPX42 was phased out during the production of the mk1 and only applied to the 2.2 anyway until the introduction of the "face lifted " 2.0 ltr.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Eolys?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Apr 2018, 10:47

Unless he's changed it, Xantippa has a 2009 C5 X7 3.0 L 240 RPO: 12001, but this table should make it easier to understand. However, I always recommend visually checking the click fit union, the RPO and finally with the dealer to be 100% sure. Especially on the changeover from Green to Blue.

So here is a guide I've put together:
Click Fit ColourRPODateEOLYS
WhiteTo 9492To 04/11/2002EOLYS DPX42
GREEN9493 to 1210905/11/2002 to 03/01/2010EOLYS 176
GREEN12110 to 1216504/01/2010 to 28/02/2010Infineum F7995
BLUE12166 on01/03/2010 onEOLYS Powerflex
So only the GREEN fluid types can be mixed when topping up - you must never mix the DPX42 or the EOLYS Poweflex with any other additive fluid.

Click Fit Connector
Click Fit Green.PNG
Click Fit Green.PNG (29.25 KiB) Viewed 461 times
Click Fit Blue.PNG
Click Fit Blue.PNG (32.28 KiB) Viewed 461 times
Green Click FitBlue Click Fit

Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 03 Apr 2018, 17:28

Thanks for that pic Marc! I was wondering if it's normal that there's only one hose/connector on mine, but it seems normal with Green Click Fit.

BTW, is this info about correct eolys version for my car available somewhere on service.citroen.com?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Eolys?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Apr 2018, 17:31

It's chargeable - not freely available - I have simplified the explanation from other sources as even in the service docs they do not provide the RPO dates and they do not specify the correct one on a per car basis - so you need to check colour of click fit and RPO and if you still want peace of mind, with the dealer - so I've done it for you :-D

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Eolys?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Apr 2018, 17:35


Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 03 Apr 2018, 18:41

GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Apr 2018, 17:35
Here's a 3l kit for your car
https://www.ebay.com/itm/WALKER-80618-E ... 2665939759


I ordered this, it was cheaper: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Walker-Eolys-1 ... 2749.l2649 :lol:

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Eolys?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 03 Apr 2018, 19:43

Ok, I'll give you that one - as I've done all the other work for you.... :-D :-D

Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 10 Apr 2018, 16:37

OK, just topped up fluid. It wasn´t a walk in the park because additive came with straight connector in the end of hose, and there is very small place for that connector (car´s own connector is angled). I managed however to fill fluid (all 3l went in, no overflow). Then I tried to reset fluid with diagbox without success. Went to maintenance and additive menu, went through that many times and cleared faults, but additive low fault in bsi comes back again. Was there a good how to for resetting eolys level somewhere?

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 8296
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12

Re: Eolys?

Post by RichardW » 10 Apr 2018, 21:51

Have you tried via the engine ECU?

Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 11 Apr 2018, 08:39

No, I think not. I went via maintenance and diesel additive and so on... Diagbox asked about kilometers at the moment, service interval, engine size, gearbox. Last step stated that I should also top up the container (which I did). Couldn't get rid off that fault code, it just pops up right back after erasing.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Eolys?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 11 Apr 2018, 08:46

You’re not in the right place then. Do your global test first, then go into the injection ECU then you should see a list of menus. Look down there for the additive one and choose the top up or refill additive (or similar) option, then follow guide.

Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 11 Apr 2018, 15:07

That did the trick, thank you! Diagbox menu structure is always mystery to me. Maybe I should use it more...

BTW, went to local garage to try this out before doing it myself, and even they couldn't do it. They had Autocom and some other general diagnosis tool that has worked at least with other C5 X7's.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10229
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38

Re: Eolys?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 11 Apr 2018, 15:12

Excellent - I should of asked you to record the menu options down and the process for others - so we could refer to it - as it is slightly different for each model and depending on the DB version too :-D

Xantippa
Posts: 349
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51

Re: Eolys?

Post by Xantippa » 11 Apr 2018, 15:28

Never ever read user manuals or make documentation on what you do! :rofl2: